U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-12-2018, 10:35 AM
 
28,607 posts, read 40,593,270 times
Reputation: 37271

Advertisements

I get the same result as thecoalman.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-12-2018, 11:48 AM
 
2,712 posts, read 3,002,296 times
Reputation: 1228
Ah, yes. Maybe. The Google bar that I am using is in Firefox. So, is it set up differently? And, a question always arises. Firefox just updated after giving us a new "quantum browser".

Anyway, I typed in "usps tracking" and hit Enter. I got a page of links. The first was from "TrackMy Package.co/usps". It says it tracks for UPS, USPS, FedEx and DHL.

Other companies with similar names follow. USPS official site if far down the list. Doesn't all matter at all. Just different.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2018, 12:35 PM
 
28,607 posts, read 40,593,270 times
Reputation: 37271
I don't use the Google bar. I go to google.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2018, 12:40 PM
 
2,712 posts, read 3,002,296 times
Reputation: 1228
How do you go to Google.com without using a search bar? I am mystified. Unless I have a Google icon on my desktop - which I have not - I have to use the bar, I think.

Well, in Safari, there is an icon for Google. But I'm almost sure it brings up the bar. Think I'll go take a look.

Meanwhile, education eagerly awaited. :-)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2018, 04:02 PM
 
40,189 posts, read 41,790,512 times
Reputation: 16743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazel W View Post
How do you go to Google.com without using a search bar?
There is two input boxes on most browsers, the address bar is the long one. If you type in google.com it should take you to google.com. If you type in usps tracking it will act like a search bar and bring up search results. Within Firefox options you can choose the default search engine for these searches.

The search bar is specifically for performing searches and you can switch between different search engines.

You may want to look to see what the default search engine is set at.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2018, 04:04 PM
 
28,607 posts, read 40,593,270 times
Reputation: 37271
I have never used a Mac so it's a guess? My FF browser has an open area at the top where I type in site names I want to visit. If I key in google then hold the Ctrl key and press Enter I go to www[dot]google[dot]com

I see fast fingers posted first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2018, 04:10 PM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,779,461 times
Reputation: 7526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazel W View Post
How do you go to Google.com without using a search bar? I am mystified. Unless I have a Google icon on my desktop - which I have not - I have to use the bar, I think.

Well, in Safari, there is an icon for Google. But I'm almost sure it brings up the bar. Think I'll go take a look.

Meanwhile, education eagerly awaited. :-)
Go to Google the same as any other website URL.

FWIW, my Mac, with Firefox, gets same results as Coalman using the Firefox "search bar", or the URL, or a bookmark on my Bookmark toolbar.

AHA, I see if I switch my Search bar to Yahoo, I do get the results Hazel sees


Hazel, click on the "magnifiying glass" icon on the left end of the Search bar, and "Change Search Settings" to Google.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-13-2018, 05:49 AM
 
2,712 posts, read 3,002,296 times
Reputation: 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by reed303 View Post
Go to Google the same as any other website URL.

FWIW, my Mac, with Firefox, gets same results as Coalman using the Firefox "search bar", or the URL, or a bookmark on my Bookmark toolbar.

AHA, I see if I switch my Search bar to Yahoo, I do get the results Hazel sees


Hazel, click on the "magnifiying glass" icon on the left end of the Search bar, and "Change Search Settings" to Google.
That is fascinating about Yahoo. Nevertheless, I did make a discovery yesterday. Instead of using Google via Firefox, I used it via Safari and then got exactly what you all were getting. So, something is haywire in Firefox on my machine -- I think.

However!!! I had opened Gmail via Safari this morning. Very good picture there. But when I clicked the link to come here - and started to add a reply to all of you - I got a message that I was not registered and a form for registering. Not wanting to think about that right now, I just backed out and used Firefox. I am registered there. :-)

As (was her name Melody?) said: "I'll think about that tomorrow."

Thank you all. I must go back over what you all said.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-13-2018, 11:51 AM
 
2,712 posts, read 3,002,296 times
Reputation: 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by reed303 View Post
Go to Google the same as any other website URL.

FWIW, my Mac, with Firefox, gets same results as Coalman using the Firefox "search bar", or the URL, or a bookmark on my Bookmark toolbar.

AHA, I see if I switch my Search bar to Yahoo, I do get the results Hazel sees


Hazel, click on the "magnifiying glass" icon on the left end of the Search bar, and "Change Search Settings" to Google.
Thank you! I'd forgotten this. I used to keep it set at Wiki when I was using Wiki a lot. But I think Wiki does only its own site - I think. Anyway, I put Google search in the frame and got the right page. Keeping up and remembering is a challenge. Especially when the robot stays miles ahead of me.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2018, 07:03 AM
 
12 posts, read 3,434 times
Reputation: 12
the most annoying thing is when it says other people have also been searching for ... Common, I just clicked and it opens a submenu.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top