U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-26-2018, 09:33 AM
 
2,714 posts, read 3,003,760 times
Reputation: 1230

Advertisements

Mine used to open a sub-menu that let you choose among several search engines. Now it just shows two, both a form of Google. And the choice does not stay. I have to click and choose again next time. That might be a difference between iMac and Windows. I don't know. It might also be how someone set up my Firefox page. Different from what friends have. I can deal with it now that someone reminded me.

Happy Day
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-26-2018, 10:43 AM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,785,262 times
Reputation: 7531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazel W View Post
Mine used to open a sub-menu that let you choose among several search engines. Now it just shows two, both a form of Google. And the choice does not stay. I have to click and choose again next time. That might be a difference between iMac and Windows. I don't know. It might also be how someone set up my Firefox page. Different from what friends have. I can deal with it now that someone reminded me.

Happy Day
Hazel,

If sounds like you are clicking on the "magnifying glass" icon before typing your search info. If so, stop. Just type in the search bar and it will use the default you set with "Change Search Settings".
This applies to FF on a Mac.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2018, 11:48 AM
 
2,714 posts, read 3,003,760 times
Reputation: 1230
Quote:
Originally Posted by reed303 View Post
Hazel,

If sounds like you are clicking on the "magnifying glass" icon before typing your search info. If so, stop. Just type in the search bar and it will use the default you set with "Change Search Settings".
This applies to FF on a Mac.
It is the default setting that isn't holding from one use to the next. But I'll try again. Could be me. Could be Firefox. That's another story, not for now.

Thanks much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top