U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-06-2018, 10:04 PM

196 posts, read 82,287 times

Advertisements

I am currently interested in learning coding programming, I just don't know where to start. I am a beginner. I found some sites online that teach you for a monthly fee, but I have no one to verify if they are worth my money. I was told python, C, C++ to start, but then again I'm not too sure. And I'm not too sure of the free programming sites either.

Majoring, maybe in computer science, if I like it, and can do it. I'll like any and all information you guys can share with me, thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-07-2018, 08:38 AM

4,265 posts, read 2,157,663 times
youtube has plenty of tutorials for free. C/C++ are very difficult languages to pick up especially if you do not understand Obect Oriented Concepts (OOP) in the case of C++.
when I was in college, we used paschal because it was geared to beginners and trying to switch to C/C++ was not easy.
Perhaps Python, Javacscript or Ruby might be a good place to start for todays beginners. Pascal would be a good choice although it doesn't do fancy web stuff but can set the foundations. You might be able to get a free compiler for it online somewhere and there is a OOP version called delphi.
good luck to you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike2017 View Post