U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 05-16-2018, 07:29 PM
 
2,360 posts, read 1,290,077 times
Reputation: 2093

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by macroy View Post
Not sure how often you're requiring to do this. But as a cheaper alternative, you can get a timer (i.e. for lights) that will reboot the router when you aren't using it - like in the middle of the night?
And what lose my porn connection..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-17-2018, 09:15 AM
 
Location: Raleigh, NC
2,299 posts, read 3,493,375 times
Reputation: 3018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_RDNC View Post
... About two - three times a week the WiFi just disappears. ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by macroy View Post
Not sure how often you're requiring to do this. But as a cheaper alternative, you can get a timer (i.e. for lights) that will reboot the router when you aren't using it - like in the middle of the night?
Interesting brute-force fix, but my modem/WiFi is also my router and there are various late-night tasks I've automated who's duration is hard to predict and would be disrupted. (IE: some stuff is automatically backed up from one device to another).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-17-2018, 01:31 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,849 posts, read 13,978,818 times
Reputation: 8083
Not sure why you're opposed to resetting the whole thing. Care to share? It sounds like you sort of know you're way around it. It can't possible take more then 10-15 minutes to reconfigure.
Hell, you could make a backup and do a restore. Try that first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-17-2018, 03:19 PM
 
2,360 posts, read 1,290,077 times
Reputation: 2093
Or just go spend the 60 bucks and get a real router..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-18-2018, 03:29 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
3,989 posts, read 2,627,494 times
Reputation: 4764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_RDNC View Post
Summary: Is there a way I can send a signal to my unit to tell it to restart/reboot JUST the WiFi part?

I have a combination Modem, Router, and WiFi: a Motorola SBG6580
It has worked well for several years, but I'm noticing (or have finally diagnosed) a problem.

About two - three times a week the WiFi just disappears. The signal lights on the front are unchanged but my smartphone and tablet both have WiFi signal strength apps and they both stop showing my WiFi signal at all
..cut..
You did not mention what device looses wifi connection. I assume it's a laptop? Does it help to reset that? Try disconnecting/reconnecting from the device or turn wifi on/off on the device Maybe it's not your router that is causing the problem but the client device?

Also

Get a cheap power strip with a switch on it and plug your modem/router to it. Turn Switch off, turn switch on. No, you cannot send a signal from your computer to reset it, the only interface is a browser with a login. You could also do the above mentioned with a timer and have it automatically power cycle for you in the middle of the night.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-19-2018, 01:47 PM
 
Location: Raleigh, NC
2,299 posts, read 3,493,375 times
Reputation: 3018
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
You did not mention what device looses wifi connection. I assume it's a laptop? Does it help to reset that? Try disconnecting/reconnecting from the device or turn wifi on/off on the device Maybe it's not your router that is causing the problem but the client device?

Also

Get a cheap power strip with a switch on it and plug your modem/router to it. Turn Switch off, turn switch on. No, you cannot send a signal from your computer to reset it, the only interface is a browser with a login. You could also do the above mentioned with a timer and have it automatically power cycle for you in the middle of the night.

Thanks for trying but:
RE: Devices that loose connection: my OP specifically states that the WiFi signal itself is lost, (measured by multiple external devices, smartphone and also tablet). So the problem is isolated to the WiFi part of my Modem/Router/WiFi device.

RE: Power Strip power cycling - my OP specifically states that I don't want to do this. A device power recycle takes several minutes for the modem part to reboot to full high-speed connection.
Several times already, my ISP has sent a signal down my Internet to do a full-reset of my modem (initial account setup, later change in IP numbers, & reset after lightning strike killed neighborhood switch), I think I was reasonable in hoping there was also a way I could send a signal to do a WiFi-only re-cycle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-21-2018, 06:48 AM
 
Location: Southern California
4,448 posts, read 5,453,733 times
Reputation: 2209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_RDNC View Post
I could send a signal to do a WiFi-only re-cycle.
They probably send a signal via a web browser page just like you.
The steps you want to automate
1) open browser
2) goto cable modem management page
3) log in
4) goto wifi page
5) click deactivate
6) activate

Someone else can create this using a software called Winbatch.

Wireless N access points are under $20 on craigslist and eBay, but I'm sure they don't have the customization options that you have done to your cable modem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-21-2018, 09:47 AM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
3,989 posts, read 2,627,494 times
Reputation: 4764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_RDNC View Post
Thanks for trying but:
RE: Devices that loose connection: my OP specifically states that the WiFi signal itself is lost, (measured by multiple external devices, smartphone and also tablet). So the problem is isolated to the WiFi part of my Modem/Router/WiFi device.

RE: Power Strip power cycling - my OP specifically states that I don't want to do this. A device power recycle takes several minutes for the modem part to reboot to full high-speed connection.
Several times already, my ISP has sent a signal down my Internet to do a full-reset of my modem (initial account setup, later change in IP numbers, & reset after lightning strike killed neighborhood switch), I think I was reasonable in hoping there was also a way I could send a signal to do a WiFi-only re-cycle.
From the ISP's side, of course they can send a "signal" to it. They control the whole thing. They can also turn it off from their side. From the wifi end, there has to be some kind of security in place, otherwise anybody could send it a "signal", change the wifi password and hijack the router if they wanted to. As for the "reboot" from the the web interface, it should have it. The problem is that you want it to be really convenient, easy and quick. In this case there is no other way. You have to login, and go through the process of rebooting, either way you have to wait. So besides the wait, there is no easier way than to power cycle. When you have a combination modem/router you are resetting BOTH connection with ISP and Wifi. When you have a separate Wifi router a power cycle is easy and does not disrupt anything and takes 30 seconds at best. If you do get around to buying another one, get them as separate units, not combined.

Edit: You could disable the Wifi part of the unit and get a separate wifi router and use the unit as a modem only. Decent Wifi routers are cheaper and you could get an AC model.

SBG6580: BRIDGE MODE SETUP
http://arris.force.com/consumers/art...dge-Mode-Setup

Last edited by gguerra; 05-21-2018 at 10:02 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2018, 04:37 AM
 
10,170 posts, read 10,501,652 times
Reputation: 5450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_RDNC View Post
I have a combination Modem, Router, and WiFi: a Motorola SBG6580
It has worked well for several years, but I'm noticing (or have finally diagnosed) a problem.

About two - three times a week the WiFi just disappears. The signal lights on the front are unchanged but my smartphone and tablet both have WiFi signal strength apps and they both stop showing my WiFi signal at all.

There is a class action suit against all products that use a Puma 6 chipset. You can read about it here. The article mentions the modem SB6190 but the chipset is in dozens of products including your gateway.
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/0..._puma_6_arris/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top