U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 06-01-2018, 04:49 PM
 
Location: Virginia
1,603 posts, read 631,811 times
Reputation: 1543

Advertisements

Windows 10 Home Desktop (x64)
LENOVO 90BG003JUS Lenovo H50-55
AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7
ST2000DM001-1ER164 [Hard drive] (2000.40 GB)
11212 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory


I have never had problems with malwarebytes in the past but for the last six months I have not been able to use it!
I have no idea what has changed?

I have uninstalled and then installed the software over and over again but the same problem occurs!?

Two screenshots show what happens.

The first screenshot is the popup after I try to start the app.




This next screenshot is when I go into services.msc to make sure that malwarebytes is set to automatic and is running.

It is on automatic but apparently not running because the Start button is clickable?

This picture shows the popup that I get when I click the Start button:



The steps taken in order:

Searched for and found Error: 1068 supposed solutions: None worked.

Removed/reinstalled the program using Revo uninstaller. No difference.

Removed/reinstalled using the MB_Clean utility from MBAM's site. No difference.

Running in Safe Mode - no difference.

Disabled anti-virus (MSD ONLY) - no difference

Looked through the program data folder to check/remove any references to old installations or to instances of MBAnti-exploit etc - none found.

Ran a couple of registry cleaners just to check if there were any left-over entries pointing things in the wrong direction.

MBAM File version is current but the error persists.


It has been six months and I Really Miss the app!

If I can't get the software to work ... is there a similar app that will work alongside Windows Defender without conflicts?

Thank You.

Last edited by claymoore; 06-01-2018 at 05:13 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-01-2018, 05:02 PM
 
Location: Virginia
1,603 posts, read 631,811 times
Reputation: 1543
Checked that all the dependency services were running and they are.
No difference.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 05:28 PM
 
Location: Virginia
1,603 posts, read 631,811 times
Reputation: 1543
Went back to services to look for other dependencies and found this:

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 06:35 PM
Status: "Enjoying life..." (set 12 days ago)
 
Location: San Antonio/Houston/Tricity
39,906 posts, read 57,741,604 times
Reputation: 93775
What version is that??

Also "stupid" question (steps not listed by you)
Did you clean your computer using alternative software ( the usual suspects - history, cache, cookies etc.)? Did you completely re-boot the computer and modem?

Try diagnostic using HiJackThis - please pay attention to instruction when you scan your computer. I usually run it when fixing my neighbors computers.
__________________
.
"No Copyrighted Material"
Moderated forums:
World, Europe, Texas, Corpus Christi, El Paso, Lubbock, Tyler, Houston, San Antonio, Tallahassee,
Minnesota, Fish, Home Interior Design and Decorating, Science and Technology Forums
.

Need help? Click on this: >>> ToS, Mod List, Rules & FAQ's, Guide, CD Home page, How to Search
Realtors are welcome here but do see our Realtor Advice to avoid infractions.

Last edited by elnina; 06-01-2018 at 06:46 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 07:09 PM
 
2,408 posts, read 1,018,167 times
Reputation: 5827
Did you try a system restore to a date when malwarebytes was working? You can bring up the system restore panel by typing restore in the search field in the lower left corner of the desktop. The System Restore says "You can undo system changes by reverting your computer to a previous restore point". I generally set a restore point periodically when the system is running well, in case I encounter this sort of software issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 07:33 PM
 
Location: Virginia
1,603 posts, read 631,811 times
Reputation: 1543
Quote:
Originally Posted by elnina View Post
What version is that??

Also "stupid" question (steps not listed by you)
Did you clean your computer using alternative software ( the usual suspects - history, cache, cookies etc.)? Did you completely re-boot the computer and modem?

Try diagnostic using HiJackThis - please pay attention to instruction when you scan your computer. I usually run it when fixing my neighbors computers.
Thanks and yes, I've done all that you have suggested.

I am starting to find that after the last "update" system32 doesn't seem to work for a lot of folks.
Some folks are saying that this was done purposely by microsoft.
(They want you to get apps from their online store only and MWB isn't one of them)

So as not to stretch this thread out even more:

To the person who suggested the restore option ... I'm just not willing to go back over six months for a restore because microsoft will automatically force the problem update on my pc again and I'll lose all of my other apps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 09:14 PM
 
28,622 posts, read 40,604,922 times
Reputation: 37303
What version of MWB? I have Pro and the latest W10 update installed. Runs okay.

Have you contacted MWB for support?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 09:16 PM
 
28,622 posts, read 40,604,922 times
Reputation: 37303
Is there a separate service listed here or is it win32 that is the problem?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2018, 09:22 PM
 
28,622 posts, read 40,604,922 times
Reputation: 37303
This company is a Microsoft Partner. You should be able to trust their software.

https://www.solvusoft.com/en/errors/...es-error-1068/

Scan your PC for computer errors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-02-2018, 12:08 AM
 
Location: Virginia
1,603 posts, read 631,811 times
Reputation: 1543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
What version of MWB? I have Pro and the latest W10 update installed. Runs okay.

Have you contacted MWB for support?
I have been using the free version for years.
This version is 3.5.1.2522, (the latest).

Yes, I've posted to the malwarebytes forum too.
(No answers as yet)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top