U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 08-27-2018, 05:53 PM
 
10,961 posts, read 15,257,900 times
Reputation: 5211

Advertisements

We bought this late last year. Internal settings say the driver is dated 2006. It worked fine with a website called Coinbase. Their software created an "allow" message and the camera turned on. Worked fine. Now Today with a different website the camera fails to turn on.
There are some articles that imply it can only be used with Skype. (??)


It's plugged in now and if we wanted to take a photo of the nice rainbow we see out the door we have no way to turn the camera on manually.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-27-2018, 09:42 PM
 
Location: God's Gift to Mankind for flying anything
5,374 posts, read 11,286,586 times
Reputation: 4210
Quote:
Originally Posted by howard555 View Post
we wanted to take a photo of the nice rainbow we see out the door we have no way to turn the camera on manually.
Laptop cameras or those separate ones that only work when plugged into a laptop or desktop are not "that good"

Why not use your phone (?), then learn how to transfer pics from your phone to your computer?

I even use my phone (as the camera) with Skype on my laptop ...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2018, 06:20 AM
 
10,961 posts, read 15,257,900 times
Reputation: 5211
Quote:
Originally Posted by irman View Post
Laptop cameras or those separate ones that only work when plugged into a laptop or desktop are not "that good"

Why not use your phone (?), then learn how to transfer pics from your phone to your computer?

I even use my phone (as the camera) with Skype on my laptop ...
We have a phone with a camera but the images are not good because of the cheapo phone. If the webcam only works with Skype maybe it's a Microsoft trick.

I did see a video where the 3000 camera works with OBS.

https://obsproject.com/

I doubt a Logitech only works with someone else's device.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-30-2018, 01:52 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
3,989 posts, read 2,625,400 times
Reputation: 4764
You need to install a windows driver for it. Websites themselves do not accommodate specific hardware. They look to the operating system to do that.

It is an older camera obviously but it has to appear under devices for it to work properly. You did not mention what version of windows you use. It doesn't appear to be supported directly by Windows 10 but should work with driver from 7 or it may work (natively) without an additional driver.

https://www.microsoft.com/accessorie...ifecam-hd-3000
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-30-2018, 02:19 PM
 
10,961 posts, read 15,257,900 times
Reputation: 5211
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
You need to install a windows driver for it. Websites themselves do not accommodate specific hardware. They look to the operating system to do that.

It is an older camera obviously but it has to appear under devices for it to work properly. You did not mention what version of windows you use. It doesn't appear to be supported directly by Windows 10 but should work with driver from 7 or it may work (natively) without an additional driver.

https://www.microsoft.com/accessorie...ifecam-hd-3000

I earlier downloaded the 3.6 software. Windows 7 desktop.
When I open it there is a message that no camera is connected. The camera is connected and when plugged into the USB port the blue light on the camera comes on but goes off. In the help section of the 3.6 there is a trouble shooting menu and for undetected device it checks for updates and drivers and everything is good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-01-2018, 10:02 AM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
3,989 posts, read 2,625,400 times
Reputation: 4764
Quote:
Originally Posted by howard555 View Post
I earlier downloaded the 3.6 software. Windows 7 desktop.
When I open it there is a message that no camera is connected. The camera is connected and when plugged into the USB port the blue light on the camera comes on but goes off. In the help section of the 3.6 there is a trouble shooting menu and for undetected device it checks for updates and drivers and everything is good.
Try a different port?

Click start, Devices and Printers, does it show up there when you plug it in?

If/When it detects it, it will display a message in lower right part of the screen stating that it sees it, it will then try to load the drivers for it etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top