U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-09-2018, 07:25 PM

4,046 posts, read 5,408,285 times

Advertisements

Hi. I'm a librarian and spend a lot of my time helping people set up email addresses, apply for jobs, government benefits, use MS Office products, etc. I was wondering if anyone else in my field, a similar field, or in IT in general has had the same experiences I've had.

Younger millennials (not all of them, but enough) don't really have computer skills, I'm finding. More and more, Gen X, Boomers, etc. have learned the necessary skills to get by in a world where knowing how to fill out a job app on the computer is essential. Weirdly, the teens (Gen Z) I encounter can do most of what they need to on a computer. The problem seems to be those 20-35.

Some things I've noticed this age group can be ignorant of:
  • how to open and print an attachment in their email
  • basic functions in MS Word (changing font size, saving a doc, etc.)
  • single clicking vs. double clicking
  • knowing common file types like jpeg and pdf
  • typing in a website url versus Googling something

If anyone else has found this to be true, do you have a theory as to why it might be?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-10-2018, 08:18 AM

6,178 posts, read 2,792,446 times