U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-13-2008, 06:33 PM
 
1,730 posts, read 4,337,401 times
Reputation: 850

Advertisements

I am not computer savvy, and at the bottom of my screen, there is a window opened that says: "zhotkey not responding." What is this, where do I find that key, and what do I do with it? I contacted Verizon, they had it removed for a week, and then it returned again. I have Windows Vista Home Premium, and neither one of the two books I purchased about Windows Vista mentions anything about this key. Thanking you in advance,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-13-2008, 07:24 PM
 
3,758 posts, read 7,526,173 times
Reputation: 858
I googled this and came up with a lot of entries about this same problem but most link to Vista forums to have your question answered. You might want to join one of those forums to help you with your problem. Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-23-2008, 10:36 PM
 
1,730 posts, read 4,337,401 times
Reputation: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG77 View Post
I googled this and came up with a lot of entries about this same problem but most link to Vista forums to have your question answered. You might want to join one of those forums to help you with your problem. Good luck!
Thanks a lot, but do you know what a zhotkey is?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-24-2008, 05:23 AM
 
Location: Land of Thought and Flow
8,323 posts, read 13,147,286 times
Reputation: 4865
What type of keyboard are you using? If you are using a multimedia keyboard - where it has the e-mail, internet, music buttons - I would recommend uninstalling and reinstalling and see if that fixes the problem.

Make sure you have a standard keyboard on hand before you do this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-24-2008, 09:10 PM
 
1,730 posts, read 4,337,401 times
Reputation: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuharai View Post
What type of keyboard are you using? If you are using a multimedia keyboard - where it has the e-mail, internet, music buttons - I would recommend uninstalling and reinstalling and see if that fixes the problem.

Make sure you have a standard keyboard on hand before you do this.
I am using model KV0401 from Gateway, which came with my computer GT5428, Vista Home Premium. It has side buttons, and on the top, might be a standard one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-24-2008, 10:35 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 8,767,266 times
Reputation: 1627
I did a quick search and saw this: "zhotkey.exe is a process associated with the drivers for Chicony Keyboards. It manages the special key functions such as Internet, E-mail, Volume Control and more."

I never use the special keys, like Media, Mute, Volume, Home, Favorites, Email, Messenger... BTW, I did a search on my own computer and didn't find any such file. You might be able to download a driver for that keyboard that will fix the problem, or you can just get rid of zhotkey.exe. Not sure if that would completely fix the error message, though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-25-2008, 07:45 PM
 
1,730 posts, read 4,337,401 times
Reputation: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian.Pearson View Post
I did a quick search and saw this: "zhotkey.exe is a process associated with the drivers for Chicony Keyboards. It manages the special key functions such as Internet, E-mail, Volume Control and more."

I never use the special keys, like Media, Mute, Volume, Home, Favorites, Email, Messenger... BTW, I did a search on my own computer and didn't find any such file. You might be able to download a driver for that keyboard that will fix the problem, or you can just get rid of zhotkey.exe. Not sure if that would completely fix the error message, though.
AND HOW DO I DO THAT.......download a driver.......or get rid of the zhotkey. You are dealing with a "computer neonate." Thank you,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-25-2008, 07:48 PM
 
1,730 posts, read 4,337,401 times
Reputation: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuharai View Post
What type of keyboard are you using? If you are using a multimedia keyboard - where it has the e-mail, internet, music buttons - I would recommend uninstalling and reinstalling and see if that fixes the problem.

Make sure you have a standard keyboard on hand before you do this.
To tell you the truth, Kuharai, I am new at this. When you say unistalling and reinstalling, what do you mean> I have two new books, but neither one helps. thank you,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top