U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-19-2008, 06:19 AM
 
1,570 posts, read 1,699,104 times
Reputation: 461

Advertisements

Ok, I changed the name of my IE to "why are you not working", and today when I woke up it was "iced". I have wireless connection with no password. Is that the problem? Mine is the only computer that isn't an apple.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-19-2008, 05:27 PM
 
Location: West, Southwest, East & Northeast
3,446 posts, read 6,642,211 times
Reputation: 868
Have you tried chaning it back to see what happens?

I recall (many months ago) playing around and changing the name of my IE and quickly realized my PC didn't like it...and changed it back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-19-2008, 08:13 PM
 
Location: Seattle, WA
1,368 posts, read 6,015,411 times
Reputation: 536
yes, your unsecured wireless connection is your problem. Fix it, and then run anti-virus checks to remove the viruses lurking on your system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-19-2008, 08:16 PM
 
1,570 posts, read 1,699,104 times
Reputation: 461
^how would you fix it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-20-2008, 02:21 PM
 
Location: Seattle, WA
1,368 posts, read 6,015,411 times
Reputation: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by 60-minutes-II View Post
^how would you fix it?
There should be a setup guide for your particular wireless router/switch.

What brand/model is it?

If you can't find your guide, just google search the brand and model, and you should be able to find a guide.


You may have to reset the router to defaults before you can continue, because if your system has hacked, and you had the default password before... they probably changed it to lock you out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-23-2008, 03:17 AM
 
Location: Cicero, NY
625 posts, read 1,645,362 times
Reputation: 221
if they got into your system then I would assume they most likely installed some sort of backdoor into the system--if they changed settings then they are planning on you figuring it out.

If you have a linksys router (most homes do) the username and password are both: admin

Once you are in the router look for a tab that says something to the effect of wireless, in that section you will beable to turn on the security
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top