U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-03-2008, 02:32 AM

702 posts, read 2,080,150 times

Advertisements

I just heard about this from another CD poster. I have a subscription to Skype that's about to expire. I've been very pleased with Skype, but it looks like I can get the same service from MagicJack for $20 per year vs $90 per year with Skype. I'm always leery about "you get what you pay for" so I'm looking for any feedback from people who have tried MagicJack.

I was about to sign up until I read a few reviews and user comments. Apparently MagicJack monitors your calls and customizes ads in the "phone pad" based on keywords it picks up in your conversation - is there truth to this? If so, count me out now. Other people have complained about their poor customer service, with the MagicJack suddenly not working after a month and getting no help.

MagicJack
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-08-2008, 09:52 PM

116 posts, read 326,037 times
rave:i just got mine today.

read the tos on their website.

Old 12-16-2008, 10:06 AM

23,985 posts, read 23,225,883 times
Cool Skype ~ Magic Jack

Quote:
Originally Posted by fnord View Post
I just heard about this from another CD poster. I have a subscription to Skype that's about to expire. I've been very pleased with Skype, but it looks like I can get the same service from MagicJack for $20 per year vs $90 per year with Skype. I'm always leery about "you get what you pay for" so I'm looking for any feedback from people who have tried MagicJack.