U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-26-2008, 01:23 PM
 
Location: Diyallusss, TX
1,805 posts, read 4,392,142 times
Reputation: 559

Advertisements

should have added, when i posted about issues with the Netgear Router I"m CURRENTLY using vs the Linksys I used to use...

the Netgear is a fairly old one and I believe there are newer models that might prove to work better.....
I dont think its a server issue I experience ........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-05-2008, 03:38 PM
 
Location: San Antonio
1,314 posts, read 2,812,126 times
Reputation: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekka-maki View Post
MAC filtering is really no layer at all... it's simply a waste of time even implementing. If I were driving around looking for access points, I could spoof a MAC addy on your network in less than 1 minute. Similarly SSID beacon suppression is easily detectable over the air in seconds and can't really be shut off. What's worse about SSID hiding is not only does it not hide your SSID at all (albeit not noticeable in Windows Wireless zero config), your client (laptop, destkop etc.) would continually probe for your access point meaning it would broadcast your SSID whereever you go. Hence, [the illusion] of hiding your SSID really accomplishes the exact opposite. Don't even bother. Just make sure you are using at least WPA authentication w/TKIP encryption, and choose a really long password (I use 63 char) and you will have no worries.
Certainly you've heard of the concept of defense-in-depth. Any extra barriers you put up are going to help protect your network. While MAC filtering and SSID hiding are easily-defeated by a skilled hacker, they do provide extra security and deterrent against less knowledgeable and casual hackers ("script-kiddies") as well as less determined skilled hackers. It's like adding a second deadbolt to your door-- someone who is determined to get in will, but the extra security will help to "keep honest people honest". Besides, it never hurts to add the extra security.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-05-2008, 05:36 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,079,484 times
Reputation: 1632
My experience with Lyksys wasn't that smooth. Their instructions were vague to me, and I had the impression they were written by someone who has a hard time seeing things through a novice's eyes.

Also, my signal strength is low. The modem and router are about thirty feet away with a couple of walls in between. I'm thinking about either getting a relay or an antenna I can plug into my laptop. I had already tried an older version that my wife was using earlier, but it cut my speed in half -- probably more.

Maybe I should've spent a few more dollars for better quality.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-05-2008, 06:40 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
Not a Linksys fan. Went through two in one day about a week ago and gave up. Bought a Netgear, no problems. Both Linksys were DOA. Others I know swear by them. Luck of the draw I'd say.

Brian, have you tried rotating the antenna on the router? Mine is better when it's parallel to the floor as it's above where I work. What is in/next to the walls? Electronics, etc? Wireless phones? Stucco? (ha!) Chicken wire in a stucco wall will really, really screw up a wireless signal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-05-2008, 08:28 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,079,484 times
Reputation: 1632
Nope, I haven't thought of doing anything to the router antenna. In fact, I'd have to look at it to verify there is an external antenna, but my wife is asleep in there.

There is a mobile phone in the living room which might be part of the problem. I think the walls are just regular walls -- sheetrock and wood.

You may recall an earlier conversation some time ago, where I was talking about my machine was saying it saying it wasn't connected, while in fact it was. But just recently, after trying my wife's plug-in antenna, fiddling around with a little program called Winsockxpfix, and playing with the settings a bit (going mostly to "link speed & duplex." Somehow my wireless started working even though my cat5 is connected.

I realize there are ways to change channels but I've no idea how to do that on mine. It may be that such changes aren't possible on every router/modem. I may break down and get another one, a different brand.

OK, my wife just got up and I checked the router -- no visible antenna.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top