U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 09-09-2008, 08:17 PM
 
Location: Lake Norman, NC
7,252 posts, read 11,392,054 times
Reputation: 30935

Advertisements

I just bought a sealed Linksys Wireless G Router and plan to replace my current Linksys Wireless B Router in the home. We run 1 hardwired PC and 3 wireless desktops units.
When we bought the house a few years ago, I had a computer guy come in and set up the router and network just so everything would work ok.

Now for the upgrade... I can connect things and follow directions, but I'm certainly not a programmer or network engineer. So before I go diving into the job, can I hookup the new router, or do I need to have some computer ability?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-09-2008, 08:21 PM
 
10,753 posts, read 18,008,790 times
Reputation: 10244
What you need to do is go into the old router and record all the wireless settings, SSID, encryption key, MAC filtering, etc, and set up the new router the same way. If your old router has the option to back up the settings to a file, you may be able to use that to import the settings to the new router, you'd have to consult the manual to see if the old backup file is compatible with the new router. Do all the router work from the hardwired PC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-14-2008, 10:27 AM
 
Location: Greenfield, Mo.
82 posts, read 238,489 times
Reputation: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
What you need to do is go into the old router and record all the wireless settings, SSID, encryption key, MAC filtering, etc, and set up the new router the same way. If your old router has the option to back up the settings to a file, you may be able to use that to import the settings to the new router, you'd have to consult the manual to see if the old backup file is compatible with the new router. Do all the router work from the hardwired PC.
NHDave said it just right. The other option, besides paying someone to come into your home and do it for you is to let your ISP (Internet Service Provider) do the work for you. Call them up and tell them what you are doing. I know Mediacom and CenturyTel will talk you through it over the phone. Most of them will walk you through it step by step.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top