U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-22-2008, 04:28 PM
 
Location: Chicago
526 posts, read 942,830 times
Reputation: 162

Advertisements

I myself have gotten vista tweaked that it pretty much runs the same as xp, but just a tad bit heaver on its memory footprint
other than that it works like a beast
any one else satisfied as i am?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-22-2008, 04:32 PM
 
Location: Middle Tennessee
188,260 posts, read 77,788,640 times
Reputation: 130809
Quote:
Originally Posted by justalicious6989 View Post
I myself have gotten vista tweaked that it pretty much runs the same as xp, but just a tad bit heaver on its memory footprint
other than that it works like a beast
any one else satisfied as i am?
It would be kind to post what you are running it on? How much RAM? CPU? Programs running at once? Primary use? Such info is a help for those of who haven't made the leap yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2008, 04:44 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,341,277 times
Reputation: 7514
I haven't even tweaked it and it runs fine. All the anti-Vista hype is mostly people not taking the time to find their way around it or people trying to run some 6 year old app or hardware on it and blaming Microsoft when it doesn't work.

Specs: Core2 Duo E6600, 3.3GB RAM, WD Raptor 74GB boot drive + 500GB mirrored data drive, nVidia 7600 PCIe video card. Presently sitting on 107 processes. I forget to close stuff because it doesn't seem to matter as much as it did under XP.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2008, 04:54 PM
 
Location: Middle Tennessee
188,260 posts, read 77,788,640 times
Reputation: 130809
My looking to Vista is for the 64 bit version with 8 or more GB of ram. Main app will be Photoshop. CS 4 looks like will be released soon. I plan to build a box based on mirrored 74GB raptor drives, mirrored 750GB for data, 2 320GB RAID 0 drives for scratch. Another pair of eSATA drives mirrored for Original images. Currently I am on the fence between Vista 64 and XP Pro 64. While we are looking at Vista I would also appreciate hearing from anyone using Photoshop with 1GB or larger files usning Vista for the OS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2008, 05:51 PM
 
2,766 posts, read 6,565,821 times
Reputation: 1462
I'm completely fine with Vista. It took a little getting used to at first, but once you take the time to configure the system how you want it, and do a little bit of research if your confused about anything, it works just as good as XP in my opinion. I don't think Vista will ever be remembered as the greatest operating system Windows released, but it doesn't deserve the heavy criticism it receives either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2008, 11:50 PM
 
Location: Chicago
526 posts, read 942,830 times
Reputation: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadicus View Post
It would be kind to post what you are running it on? How much RAM? CPU? Programs running at once? Primary use? Such info is a help for those of who haven't made the leap yet.
my specs:
Intel Pentium 4 HT 2.6ghz
800mhz FSB
1gb ddr2 533mhz
149hdd @7200rpm
i do want to upgrade to 2gb on the ram
for the most part tweaking it for the pentium 4 helps quite a bit
i say go for the leap if you can just dont run it on a computer that was made in 2002.
thats like putting xp on a pentium II at 250mhz lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-23-2008, 12:13 AM
 
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
3,689 posts, read 9,524,820 times
Reputation: 953
perfectly fine with Vist as well.

Athlon 64 x2 5400+
4gig memory
asus M2n-E motherboard
2-250 gig drives,
running Nvidia 8800gtx graphics card with dual 20" monitors.

currently only running 75 processes. Did not take more than 5 min. to tweak it to work exactly how I wanted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-23-2008, 12:18 AM
 
Location: Middle Tennessee
188,260 posts, read 77,788,640 times
Reputation: 130809
Quote:
Originally Posted by justalicious6989 View Post
my specs:
Intel Pentium 4 HT 2.6ghz
800mhz FSB
1gb ddr2 533mhz
149hdd @7200rpm
i do want to upgrade to 2gb on the ram
for the most part tweaking it for the pentium 4 helps quite a bit
i say go for the leap if you can just dont run it on a computer that was made in 2002.
thats like putting xp on a pentium II at 250mhz lol
I would be putting Vista on new system from the MB up. Most likely dual quad cores. The MB is an issue with Max amount of RAM that can be installed. Currently looking at server boards that allow up to 64GB of RAM. 16GB maybe adequate but I want the option for more if needed. I know there is no need to install more RAM than Vista 64 can use or Photoshop CS4 and whatever CS 6 would use. I don't upgrade computers often or software so I build for the long haul. Having worked with 2 GB+ image files I know how slow it can be with files 4 times that size. Turning off processes not needed in Vista and not skimping on available resources should resolve efficiency issues. I'm not building anything until I see some hard performance numbers for just what Photoshop really can and can not use.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-23-2008, 12:36 AM
 
Location: Chicago
526 posts, read 942,830 times
Reputation: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadicus View Post
I would be putting Vista on new system from the MB up. Most likely dual quad cores. The MB is an issue with Max amount of RAM that can be installed. Currently looking at server boards that allow up to 64GB of RAM. 16GB maybe adequate but I want the option for more if needed. I know there is no need to install more RAM than Vista 64 can use or Photoshop CS4 and whatever CS 6 would use. I don't upgrade computers often or software so I build for the long haul. Having worked with 2 GB+ image files I know how slow it can be with files 4 times that size. Turning off processes not needed in Vista and not skimping on available resources should resolve efficiency issues. I'm not building anything until I see some hard performance numbers for just what Photoshop really can and can not use.
yes i know what you mean, wish i could help on the photoshop part, but i do not run photoshop on this system
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-23-2008, 12:43 AM
 
Location: Chicago
526 posts, read 942,830 times
Reputation: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahma View Post
perfectly fine with Vist as well.

Athlon 64 x2 5400+
4gig memory
asus M2n-E motherboard
2-250 gig drives,
running Nvidia 8800gtx graphics card with dual 20" monitors.

currently only running 75 processes. Did not take more than 5 min. to tweak it to work exactly how I wanted.
75 WOW!
when i have winamp, ie explorer, firefox,yahoo mess, avg, and zone alarm im using at most 49-52 im wondering what else your running to get to 75?


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top