U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 10-03-2008, 02:00 PM
 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
85 posts, read 485,994 times
Reputation: 48

Advertisements

Hey guys, I wanna toss this out there and see if I have any options.

I just upgraded my PC from 2GB RAM to 4GB of RAM... I already knew this, but like a moron I forgot that 32bit Windows maxes out at 3GB.

My motherboard has support for 4GB dual channel (pc3200) and I can adjust in the BIOS, but i believe that won't change how Windows sees it?

I really don't want to upgrade to Vista becuase I love XP, and I don't even know where to find WinXP 64bit, or if it'll even be worth it to try and find.

Am I SOL on having to goto Vista or do I have a work around for XP32?

Thanks in advance,

Dan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-03-2008, 02:07 PM
 
Location: US
1,189 posts, read 3,645,370 times
Reputation: 822
Yeah you're only going to see 3GB and some change worth of RAM on a 32bit system. Is your processor 64bit? If it is I would go look for XP64bit, it is out there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-03-2008, 02:35 PM
 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
85 posts, read 485,994 times
Reputation: 48
Yeah it's a single core AMD64... I'll have to start my search for WinXP...

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-03-2008, 03:10 PM
 
Location: WV and Eastport, ME
11,727 posts, read 11,309,113 times
Reputation: 7700
You can also see more memory with Server 2003.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-03-2008, 03:13 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,341,277 times
Reputation: 7514
Vista32 and XP32 will see the exact same amount of RAM. As will Vista64 and XP64. So XP vs. Vista is a non-issue. Its 32 bit vs. 64 bit. A 32 bit OS has 4GB worth of address space but won't be able to address 4GB of RAM because it needs space to communicate with hardware in the system. For example, if you have 4GB of RAM and a 512MB video card, that 512 gets taken off the top and now the most Windows could ever get access to is 3.5GB. I run Vista32 with a 256MB video card and can address about 3.3GB of the 4GB installed. If you're going to move to a 64 bit Windows, I'd go with Vista64 because XP64 was seriously lacking in the hardware and software compatibility department. Vista64 is better supported. I also would go with more than 4GB of RAM if you're going to go 64 bit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-06-2008, 10:41 AM
 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
85 posts, read 485,994 times
Reputation: 48
Thanks for the heads up. Unfortunately my mobo maxes out at 4GB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-07-2008, 01:26 AM
 
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
3,689 posts, read 9,524,820 times
Reputation: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannythekid View Post
Thanks for the heads up. Unfortunately my mobo maxes out at 4GB
you could always upgrade your motherboard. My Asus board maxes out at 10 I believe (goes in search of the manual.)

Right now my Vista install is getting all 4 gigs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-07-2008, 08:03 PM
 
Location: Greenfield, Mo.
82 posts, read 238,489 times
Reputation: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
Vista32 and XP32 will see the exact same amount of RAM. As will Vista64 and XP64. So XP vs. Vista is a non-issue. Its 32 bit vs. 64 bit. A 32 bit OS has 4GB worth of address space but won't be able to address 4GB of RAM because it needs space to communicate with hardware in the system. For example, if you have 4GB of RAM and a 512MB video card, that 512 gets taken off the top and now the most Windows could ever get access to is 3.5GB. I run Vista32 with a 256MB video card and can address about 3.3GB of the 4GB installed. If you're going to move to a 64 bit Windows, I'd go with Vista64 because XP64 was seriously lacking in the hardware and software compatibility department. Vista64 is better supported. I also would go with more than 4GB of RAM if you're going to go 64 bit.
This is correct.

Only problem with running 64 bit is some software won't work on it. I have a total of 8gig in one of my machines, but all the rest run with 4gigs as they only have 32bit OS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-07-2008, 08:31 PM
 
Location: Mesa, Az
21,148 posts, read 37,795,478 times
Reputation: 3806
Quote:
Originally Posted by visualevo View Post
This is correct.

Only problem with running 64 bit is some software won't work on it. I have a total of 8gig in one of my machines, but all the rest run with 4gigs as they only have 32bit OS.
I found that out with a 3 YO Lexmark printer; the manufacturer does not even offer a driver download for 64bit-----------I said the hell with it and bought a new printer for $60 that came with the appropriate CD.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-16-2009, 06:50 PM
 
Location: Chicago
526 posts, read 942,830 times
Reputation: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
Vista32 and XP32 will see the exact same amount of RAM. As will Vista64 and XP64. So XP vs. Vista is a non-issue. Its 32 bit vs. 64 bit. A 32 bit OS has 4GB worth of address space but won't be able to address 4GB of RAM because it needs space to communicate with hardware in the system. For example, if you have 4GB of RAM and a 512MB video card, that 512 gets taken off the top and now the most Windows could ever get access to is 3.5GB. I run Vista32 with a 256MB video card and can address about 3.3GB of the 4GB installed. If you're going to move to a 64 bit Windows, I'd go with Vista64 because XP64 was seriously lacking in the hardware and software compatibility department. Vista64 is better supported. I also would go with more than 4GB of RAM if you're going to go 64 bit.
it can be an xp vs vista, 64bit for vista is supported more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top