U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-13-2009, 03:29 AM
 
Location: THEN: Paso Robles, Ca * NOW: Albuquerque, NM
519 posts, read 1,565,090 times
Reputation: 261

Advertisements

Okay, so I am going to preface this as probably a dumb question, but I'm not sure if my suspicions are correct and need a smarter person.

I erased my hard drive and reinstalled my 2005 XP disks. Before I erased my HD, I got a notice saying the current XP was newer than the disks (did I upgrade and completely forget?). This past year I got XP Office Pro, and operated as the new, snazzy-looking version. Well, I reinstalled it today, and opens as the "old"-looking Word.

My suspicion is that I upgraded XP along the way (which I don't have the disks for) which allowed Office Pro to run as the snazzy version. I'm thinking that since I have the 2005 XP, my Office Pro can only run as the "old" version.

Am I correct? Or did I do something wrong? Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-13-2009, 04:08 PM
 
Location: Arden, NC
535 posts, read 1,573,969 times
Reputation: 233
There is Windows XP and there is Office 2003 and Office 2007 - nothing is for 2005. Could it be office that you're thinking of.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-13-2009, 05:32 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 18,003,358 times
Reputation: 10244
Ok, your a tad confused, lets take things one at a time.
1. There is no Windows XP 2005, there is Windows Media Center 2005.
2. The newer version error you got was because the service pack level of your installation is higher than your installation CD, this is perfectly normal.
3. Any upgrades to Windows XP would have no effect on an Office installation, and I have no idea what this "snazzy version" is. Office runs as what it is, it doesn't matter which version of Windows it's installed on. Can you clarify which version of Office you have, there is an Office 97, XP, 2003, and 2007, there is no Office 2005. Try to explain so we can figure out what's going on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-13-2009, 05:36 PM
 
Location: US
1,189 posts, read 3,644,902 times
Reputation: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Ok, your a tad confused, lets take things one at a time.
1. There is no Windows XP 2005, there is Windows Media Center 2005.
2. The newer version error you got was because the service pack level of your installation is higher than your installation CD, this is perfectly normal.
3. Any upgrades to Windows XP would have no effect on an Office installation, and I have no idea what this "snazzy version" is. Office runs as what it is, it doesn't matter which version of Windows it's installed on. Can you clarify which version of Office you have, there is an Office 97, XP, 2003, and 2007, there is no Office 2005. Try to explain so we can figure out what's going on.

Probably Office 2007 instead of Office 2003 or XP. You know, the ribbon and shiny stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-13-2009, 05:38 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 18,003,358 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Arp View Post
Probably Office 2007 instead of Office 2003 or XP. You know, the ribbon and shiny stuff.
Yeah, but i would think the OP would remember shelling out the $$ for that and hang on to the CD
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-13-2009, 05:42 PM
 
Location: US
1,189 posts, read 3,644,902 times
Reputation: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Yeah, but i would think the OP would remember shelling out the $$ for that and hang on to the CD
True.

Well, maybe it ships on some higher end Dells or HPs? I haven't shopped for a computer in awhile so I don't know if they do that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-13-2009, 07:01 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,334,693 times
Reputation: 7514
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Arp View Post
True.

Well, maybe it ships on some higher end Dells or HPs? I haven't shopped for a computer in awhile so I don't know if they do that.
Many machines come with a 60 day trial of Office pre-intalled.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2009, 12:42 AM
 
Location: THEN: Paso Robles, Ca * NOW: Albuquerque, NM
519 posts, read 1,565,090 times
Reputation: 261
Ah, yes. I was confused.

I have Windows Media Center.

And, I think I figured out the problem .. which wasn't a problem in the first place, really. I borrowed some Office 2007 disks from my university and installed the program on my computer. I then asked for backup disks to be made (and they were), but they were Office 2002 (presumably because that is what was installed last night) not 2007. And that is why I was confused.

So, now, I'll just have to find some 2007 disks.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2009, 10:25 AM
 
Location: Arden, NC
535 posts, read 1,573,969 times
Reputation: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Yeah, but i would think the OP would remember shelling out the $$ for that and hang on to the CD
Behold the power of the torrents.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2009, 11:28 AM
 
Location: NJ
11,483 posts, read 21,885,136 times
Reputation: 10056
Quote:
Originally Posted by truckzter View Post
Ah, yes. I was confused.

I have Windows Media Center.

And, I think I figured out the problem .. which wasn't a problem in the first place, really. I borrowed some Office 2007 disks from my university and installed the program on my computer. I then asked for backup disks to be made (and they were), but they were Office 2002 (presumably because that is what was installed last night) not 2007. And that is why I was confused.

So, now, I'll just have to find some 2007 disks.

Thanks for your help!
Go to Walmart and look at the boxes for Microsoft Works, some come with Word. When you figure out which you need, order it online cheaper.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top