U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Unread 01-17-2009, 08:22 PM
 
Location: Back Home In TN…YAY:):)
15,289 posts, read 14,353,638 times
Reputation: 70745
Thank you all so much for your patience and help. I am now able to copy onto a new word document. Now if I could just figure out how to add them to an existing file.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Unread 01-17-2009, 09:00 PM
 
Location: Weston, FL
2,800 posts, read 8,189,336 times
Reputation: 1787
Try this - open notepad and copy from the web to that and then copy from notepad to your word doc - I am serious. Let me know if this works for you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-18-2009, 05:58 AM
 
Location: Amelia View
2,751 posts, read 6,838,159 times
Reputation: 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by younglisa7 View Post
Thank you all so much for your patience and help.

That's what we're all here for!!! :-)

I am now able to copy onto a new word document.

Yahoo!

Now if I could just figure out how to add them to an existing file.

Hopefully whatever process you used will work in your recipe file, too!
I never used to have a problem with copy/paste with Word, but then all of a sudden it got persnickety and I now have to make sure my paste destination is sitting there ready and waiting before I do the copy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-18-2009, 06:14 AM
 
Location: Arden, NC
535 posts, read 1,023,689 times
Reputation: 217
To copy to an existing file just open the file up that you want to paste into. Go back to the website window, copy the data, tab back to the word document, scroll down to where you want to edit then paste it there.

I've see the behavior that you're talking about when using some websites. I'd highlight then copy but nothing would be there. Maybe it's some activex control they have to disallow copying. What i ended up doing was hitting the print button (some recipe sites will have these so you can print the recipe w/o all of the ads and junk). When that screen came up I'd do a copy then tab into word to paste.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-25-2009, 07:45 PM
 
Location: Back Home In TN…YAY:):)
15,289 posts, read 14,353,638 times
Reputation: 70745
Thank you all. I finally got it but it's a 2 step process. I can copy and then paste into an "open" word document. Then I can go into my docs and copy and paste that"new word doc" into another folder. It may be the long way around but I'm happy it works.

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-25-2009, 11:13 PM
 
Location: Not where you ever lived
10,296 posts, read 12,638,418 times
Reputation: 4911
Try saving it in Notepad first. Then create a recipe file and put it there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-26-2009, 07:27 AM
 
Location: Amelia View
2,751 posts, read 6,838,159 times
Reputation: 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by younglisa7 View Post
Thank you all. I finally got it but it's a 2 step process. I can copy and then paste into an "open" word document. Then I can go into my docs and copy and paste that"new word doc" into another folder. It may be the long way around but I'm happy it works.

thanks
Glad some sort of system works! Yes, sometimes we do have to go all the way around our elbow to get to our thumb (as the cliche goes :-), but if that "trip" works, then it works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-26-2009, 10:19 AM
 
Location: Texas
5,069 posts, read 5,182,353 times
Reputation: 1523
The only thing with Word is sometimes you get some unusual characters instead of what you copied. I never fully understood why that happens, though somebody explained it in an earlier post.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-26-2009, 06:33 PM
 
Location: Back Home In TN…YAY:):)
15,289 posts, read 14,353,638 times
Reputation: 70745
Hey I am just so happy I got something to work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-28-2009, 02:07 PM
 
Location: Houston, TX
1,587 posts, read 2,863,956 times
Reputation: 1368
I sometimes have problems after I copy something and want to paste it into a Word doc. What I have found is that when I go into Word, Edit, and select Paste Special and then paste it as unformatted text, it usually works for me. I don't know if what I am talking about is at all what you are having a problem with but...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $74,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.

© 2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top