U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-06-2009, 12:47 PM
 
Location: Burke, VA
57 posts, read 322,169 times
Reputation: 29

Advertisements

Yes I just looked the model up. Shuttle, so I guess it's got only one fan in the back.
CPU Fan is On top of the CPU Heat Sink on top of the CPU itself. Obviously you already said its on the motherboard so it's moving and thats somewhat good news. At least your power supply is working.
The light on the motherboard is on so I guess your Mobo is working.
Just take out the ram sticks and turn the computer on. It should give you conseq. beeping.
Turn it off again. Unplug. Put back the ram. Turn it on. If nothing.
Shut off. Take CMOS pin out from 1 + 2 and put on 1 + 3. Hit the power button. Wait 10-15secs. Turn it off. Put the pin back into normal position. Turn on. Should work.
You have on board videoim assuming. So i don't think you've fried anything.
Then again you won't know whats wrong with it until you start eliminating possibilities. One by one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-09-2009, 09:29 AM
 
375 posts, read 1,376,830 times
Reputation: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by gresan1 View Post
Yes I just looked the model up. Shuttle, so I guess it's got only one fan in the back.
CPU Fan is On top of the CPU Heat Sink on top of the CPU itself. Obviously you already said its on the motherboard so it's moving and thats somewhat good news. At least your power supply is working.
The light on the motherboard is on so I guess your Mobo is working.
Just take out the ram sticks and turn the computer on. It should give you conseq. beeping.
Turn it off again. Unplug. Put back the ram. Turn it on. If nothing.
Shut off. Take CMOS pin out from 1 + 2 and put on 1 + 3. Hit the power button. Wait 10-15secs. Turn it off. Put the pin back into normal position. Turn on. Should work.
You have on board videoim assuming. So i don't think you've fried anything.
Then again you won't know whats wrong with it until you start eliminating possibilities. One by one.

I will print this out and try this at home.
What is CMOS pin? And what do you mean by 1+ 2 and 1 + 3?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-09-2009, 10:47 AM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,076,702 times
Reputation: 1632
Is it possible the power supply still messed up, but just has enough juice to make it appear is is OK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mensaguy View Post
Maybe. Just depends. Here's some things to check. Is the power light on the front coming on? If so, is it the right color? Is it blinking? Is the fan in the power supply running or the one lower on the back of the case? What kind of computer is it?

I've seen several dozen Dell Optiplex GX-270 minitower machines fail after a power outage. Usually, no fan comes on and the power indicator is blinking amber. Sometimes, removing the power cord for a few minutes will fix it. Other times, the power supply has failed and must be replaced.

I saw an old IBM machine a few weeks ago that had a failed power supply, but I advised that I considered the machine toast. It was 7 years old and had a proprietary power supply.

BTW, if the machine IS toast, there is still a good chance that your data is intact on your hard disk.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-09-2009, 01:50 PM
 
8,415 posts, read 35,743,469 times
Reputation: 6283
There is an internal fuse in computers like Tvs....I bet that needs replaced. (the fuse)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2009, 07:37 AM
 
Location: Burke, VA
57 posts, read 322,169 times
Reputation: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian.Pearson View Post
Is it possible the power supply still messed up, but just has enough juice to make it appear is is OK?
No, not really. It will either work or not work. The power supply will kick power to each unit in the motherboard. If it's not gathering enough power it will force the computer to completely shutdown or go into a restart loop.
The unit can actually also collect "static" where "static" will turn fans on only but not power the whole motherboard. Usually it's fixed by resetting the mobo (CMOS)
It's kinda hard to explain.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-12-2009, 09:34 AM
 
16,308 posts, read 25,264,005 times
Reputation: 8302
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitt_transplant View Post
There is an internal fuse in computers like Tvs....I bet that needs replaced. (the fuse)
DUDE quit the the completely BOGUS information, this is the second thread where people asking for help have been fed a line of complete bs from you.

Again you are completely wrong, and spreading this type of information is absolutely unacceptable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-18-2009, 09:20 PM
 
Location: Meeami
532 posts, read 2,131,442 times
Reputation: 274
Switch the monitor power plug and the computer power plug. Make sure the monitor powers up. Make sure the plug in the back of the computer is the monitors one. Try the computer again.

Perform a power supply reset by unplugging the power cord, then press the power button in and hold for 10 seconds. Reattach the power cord and try to power on the computer.

Do what someone said above, yank the memory. If you get the constant beeping, the computer is trying to post which is good. If it doesnt, id start with a power supply. (after checking all other peripherals and connections) (i have a reset i've done by switching the power supplies switch from 110 to 220 and powering up (or attemping to, then back to normal, sometimes a few times, this isnt recommended but has worked for me on occasion in the past, DONT do this if you are in a 220 country! Powering up under 110 will DAMAGE your gear)

Btw there IS a fuse in most power supplies. People just dont change them, they change out the power supply instead Go to your favorite search engine and type 'ata power supply fuse' and you will see instructions on how to change it. Btw i woudln't open a power supply unless you absolutely know what you are doing, disclaimer disclaimer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-18-2009, 09:30 PM
 
Location: GLAMA
16,584 posts, read 34,227,453 times
Reputation: 16847
Of course, if the power supply fuse opened up due to a shorted component.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-18-2009, 09:46 PM
 
16,308 posts, read 25,264,005 times
Reputation: 8302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fontucky View Post
Of course, if the power supply fuse opened up due to a shorted component.......
PC power supplies don't have fuses.

These kind of comments are a disservice to those trying to find a solution to their problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2009, 08:06 AM
 
Location: Burke, VA
57 posts, read 322,169 times
Reputation: 29
please please please dont be rocket scientists and open the power supply if you have no idea wtf youre doing!
and to all who keep insisting to change the fuse, please re-read the OPs post. (if the fuse was blown then the fans would not turn...unless you know something that science does not know) on top of that, if you dont have a soldering equip, it's more expensive to replace the fuse, but appearantly some of you have time and lab equipment avail.

OP, where are you with the prob?

otherwise, some1 close the thread before we get some other great ideas to dissect the computer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top