U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-14-2009, 10:06 PM
 
Location: state of enlightenment
2,404 posts, read 4,722,941 times
Reputation: 2463

Advertisements

I am going out of my mind trying to get an A8V system to work. It does not POST, no beeps, no voice POST Report. The green light and the CPU fan does go on. I've tried removing everything, new CPU, new memory, removed video card, new power supply. I have replaced EVERYTHING. It's insane! I've put together maybe 5 systems so I do have a clue what I'm doing but I'm completely stumped. HEEEEEEEEEELP
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-14-2009, 11:50 PM
 
Location: Beaverland, OR
588 posts, read 2,585,886 times
Reputation: 465
That particular motherboard was released almost 5 years ago. Has the board been used or is it brand new? If it has been used, can you confirm whether it was still functioning in the system it was pulled from?

Have you tried clearing the CMOS? (pull the battery if there is not a jumper or switch on the board).

I'm going to assume here that you are using a CPU and memory that are compatible with the board, and that you have plugged in the 4-pin CPU power header.

The pictures of the board I see online show that the piezo buzzer is not present, so you will not hear any beeps from this board. Given that, it is possible the board IS booting, and you might simply have a bad video card; have you tried a known good graphics card?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2009, 08:01 AM
 
10,753 posts, read 18,005,309 times
Reputation: 10244
Also, as you've swapped out every other part, it's not at all unlikely that the board is bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2009, 09:23 AM
 
Location: state of enlightenment
2,404 posts, read 4,722,941 times
Reputation: 2463
Here's the crazy part. I've tried 2 different motherboard (both used)! Unlikely they're both bad. I've taken it out of the case and just plugged in the PS and it does light up even if the power pins aren't shorted. I thought the power pins need to be shorted before the power gets to the board.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2009, 11:06 AM
 
10,753 posts, read 18,005,309 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by geos View Post
Here's the crazy part. I've tried 2 different motherboard (both used)! Unlikely they're both bad. I've taken it out of the case and just plugged in the PS and it does light up even if the power pins aren't shorted. I thought the power pins need to be shorted before the power gets to the board.
Usually depends on the BIOS power settings, if it's set to resume after power loss it will fire as soon as power is applied.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2009, 11:27 AM
 
Location: Beaverland, OR
588 posts, read 2,585,886 times
Reputation: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by geos View Post
new CPU, new memory, removed video card, new power supply. I have replaced EVERYTHING.
This part of your post leads me to believe you have not actually tried a NEW video card. Try that; if it doesn't work, and you've verified the functionality of all the other parts, then I'd be leaning toward two bad boards, as unlikely as that may sound.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-16-2009, 07:56 PM
 
Location: state of enlightenment
2,404 posts, read 4,722,941 times
Reputation: 2463
Default Eureeeka!

It woiks! Removing a defective HD plus clearing CMOS with jumper setting did the trick. Thanks for all the suggestions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-16-2009, 11:17 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,076,702 times
Reputation: 1632
Was it trying to go to the HD, first?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top