U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 05-06-2009, 09:11 AM
 
Location: Timonium, MD
41 posts, read 144,552 times
Reputation: 27

Advertisements

Get yourself a linux live CD (like ubuntu). Boot linux and then save your important files to an external drive. Then do a clean install of windows.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-06-2009, 10:01 AM
 
16,308 posts, read 25,265,774 times
Reputation: 8302
Go into BIOS setup screen, and find the option to return all settings to "default", save the settings, then see if the system will boot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2009, 10:14 AM
 
Location: NJ
11,490 posts, read 21,893,505 times
Reputation: 10068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emma77 View Post
My computer at home is very sick and I don't know what to do...I can't even get it into safe mode...how screwed am I? Pushing "r" brings it right back to this screen. F10 gets me to the safe mode option screen..when I click on it..it brings me back to this screen..
Emma, can you give us more information?

I assume you're running XP?
Do you know how much memory you have including how many actual sticks?
EDIT - forgot to ask - do you know the brand and/or model number of the computer?
Also going into the BIOS as was mentioned sometimes fixes it.
How good are you with computers?


Doing some googling, It's usually due to one of a few things, the file is corrupt and you need to replace it (this is why I like having a second computer to hook the drive to), you have a bad piece of hardware (memory or something else). You will probably need to disconnect things that you do not need, leave 1 stick of memory, if you have a sound card, take it out. The video card stays in, if you have 2 DVD drives, unplug the power to one.

Quote:
You may have to remove all PCI devices that are not absolutely essential for Booting and then reboot to see if the "Pci.sys Is Missing or Corrupt" Error Message when you start Windows, goes away. If removing the Add-on Cards stops the boot error then reinstall them one at a time to cause the error and catch the culprit device and remove it permanently or replace it with WinXP Compatible device.
From what I am reading, if one stick of memory is loose, you will get this error. For others, it appears you need Windows XP with SP2 in order to use the recovery console.

From what I am reading, you may not be able to reinstall windows until you figure out what device is giving you problems.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emma77 View Post
We've done that ...pressing R makes it think for a minute, then it goes back to that screen...
This leads me to wonder if your hard drive is toast.

"Pci.sys Is Missing or Corrupt" Error Message When You Start Windows

How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP

How to install and use the Recovery Console in Windows XP

see this as well - Perform a Repair Installation (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/tips/doug92.mspx - broken link)

Last edited by Roselvr; 05-06-2009 at 10:43 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2009, 10:35 AM
 
16,308 posts, read 25,265,774 times
Reputation: 8302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emma77 View Post
We've done that ...pressing R makes it think for a minute, then it goes back to that screen...
If you system actually boots from your XP CD, and the error is still present, then that completely eliminates anything with your installed operating system, but points to either a hardware problem, or a conflict in the BIOS settings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2009, 12:43 PM
 
Location: Burke, VA
57 posts, read 322,201 times
Reputation: 29
OP, where do you stand with the problem?

if it's a BIOS fault, you can always do a reset, but, i do not think that a repair from windows cd is going to help.
i think it's an addon card or maybe a ram slot.
I would start by removing the last thing you added.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top