U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 05-05-2009, 03:03 PM
 
375 posts, read 1,377,286 times
Reputation: 113

Advertisements

Can you install dual monitors if you have only one plug for a monitor in the back of your computer? I'm thinking there might be some kind of an adaptor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-05-2009, 03:11 PM
 
Location: WV and Eastport, ME
11,750 posts, read 11,317,384 times
Reputation: 7707
As a general rule, you need a video card capable of supporting dual monitors. Some computers do it better than others. I've had trouble setting up dual monitors on some older machines, but new computers with good video cards will nearly always support dual monitors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2009, 04:06 PM
 
375 posts, read 1,377,286 times
Reputation: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by mensaguy View Post
As a general rule, you need a video card capable of supporting dual monitors. Some computers do it better than others. I've had trouble setting up dual monitors on some older machines, but new computers with good video cards will nearly always support dual monitors.
So if the video card has only one plug does that mean that it's not capable of supporting dual monitors?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2009, 05:26 PM
 
10,755 posts, read 18,015,770 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningMcQueen View Post
So if the video card has only one plug does that mean that it's not capable of supporting dual monitors?
Generally yes, you can use a splitter if all you want is a duplicate display, same image and resolution on each monitor. To obtain true dual monitor you need a new graphics card that supports it, a second graphics card if you have a free slot or a USB to VGA adapter
Newegg.com - StarTech USB VGA Mini External Dual or Multi Monitor Video Adapter USB2VGAE VGA Interface - TV Tuners & Video Devices

There are Graphics cards that have a single connector that are actually dual monitor cards, but you'd know if you had one because they come with a special splitter cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2009, 10:40 PM
 
Location: Meeami
532 posts, read 2,132,230 times
Reputation: 274
My Dell computer at work only has one plug on the back of it, but supports 2 monitors. Its a dvi (i think) dual video out however. And the computer came with an adapter to run either 2 digital monitors, or 1 digital and and 1 vga, which is what i do. If your computer has one regular vga connection, its made for 1 monitor. (like someone said you can get run 2 monitors with a splitter or something, but usually peopl want 2 unique desktops). I know i cant work without 2 nowadays.
You may be able to put any other video card you have lying around into the computer and if the drivers jive, this will work too. I have this setup running on one of my crappy computers here at home.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2009, 11:40 PM
 
Location: sowf jawja
1,940 posts, read 8,307,443 times
Reputation: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbugmiami View Post
My Dell computer at work only has one plug on the back of it, but supports 2 monitors. Its a dvi (i think) dual video out however. . .

We probably have something similar; I have dell computers at the office w/ dual monitors on them, but its not a DVI like what's on back of your monitor or TV. Its a much larger port, and the adapter has two DVI outs.

We run ours through KVM switches for dual monitor/dual computer at each desk.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2011, 11:05 AM
 
1 posts, read 1,521 times
Reputation: 13
Anyone had success using your laptop with dual monitors through a docking station?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2011, 12:03 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,849 posts, read 13,976,351 times
Reputation: 8083
With the screens on the laptop and an external monitor, yes.
With 2 monitors, no.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top