U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-10-2009, 08:05 PM

6,758 posts, read 6,744,094 times
Default Getting data from old hard drive....

Okay I am not very good with computers at all, but am trying to figure out how to do something rather than paying Geek Squad $100 to do it for me.

I had an HP computer that crashed. We decided to buy a new computer rather than fixing the old one because it was 7 years old.

I have been trying to figure out how to retrieve my music and photos from the old hard drive. So far, I have removed the hard drive from the old PC and thats it.

I keep reading things like "slave it into the new PC and then just drag them over". That is where I get lost. I looked up the owner's manual on the hard drive (barracuda 7200.7) and found that by removing a jumper, it puts it into slave mode. So now that I have the old hard drive set for slave mode, I do not know where to go. My understanding is that I simply take the side off my new PC and there should be a way to plug it right in. Are there special connectors that I need to do this? I have no idea where to plug it in on the new one. After I do get it plugged in, how will I find the data on it?

Again, I don't know much about computers, so when replying try not to go over my head with the language.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-10-2009, 08:12 PM