U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Unread 05-31-2009, 05:50 PM
 
Location: Catonsville, MD
2,367 posts, read 3,598,315 times
Reputation: 1560
Default compaq laptop built-in webcam question

I have a friend who lives overseas and is bordering on being computer illiterate (this is his self-description, not mine). Recently he got a compaq laptop that has a built-in webcam. I asked him if he had used it yet and he said, "I don't know how to turn it on." On my Acer netbook, I just go into "My computer" and under cameras, there is the "Webcam" icon. So I asked him to look in "my computer." There was nothing there that indicated he had a webcam. I have no clue how to help him because I don't have a Compaq. Anybody here with a Compaq laptop with built-in webcam to help me help him figure out how to make it open? Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Unread 09-06-2010, 11:58 AM
 
1 posts, read 64,010 times
Reputation: 19
i have the same problem i just got it last night and idk it looks like it does and in the pic that shows what all ur computer has it says web cam and idk id doesnt show it anywhere and when i was looking threw it has a youcam thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 09-06-2010, 03:34 PM
 
Location: NH
6,063 posts, read 7,343,461 times
Reputation: 4067
Usually what ever app your using that needs it will turn it on when you start a video chat, i.e. yahoo, MSN, skype, etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 12-02-2010, 04:21 PM
 
1 posts, read 62,523 times
Reputation: 36
So I have a compaq laptop with a built in laptop and I can't find the icon so I can use it. Where would it be? I have typed in webcam but it doesn't go to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 12-02-2010, 05:24 PM
 
11,730 posts, read 21,932,042 times
Reputation: 7032
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggy12 View Post
So I have a compaq laptop with a built in laptop and I can't find the icon so I can use it. Where would it be? I have typed in webcam but it doesn't go to it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Usually what ever app your using that needs it will turn it on when you start a video chat, i.e. yahoo, MSN, skype, etc.

^^^ This
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 12-03-2010, 05:14 AM
 
Location: NH
6,063 posts, read 7,343,461 times
Reputation: 4067
Both of the above posts reported as spam
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 12-03-2010, 08:01 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
5,323 posts, read 4,759,780 times
Reputation: 2430
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Usually what ever app your using that needs it will turn it on when you start a video chat, i.e. yahoo, MSN, skype, etc.
To clarify. Open up the program you are going to use to have a webcam chat. You must have some type of software to do this. Just having a webcam does not mean you can just jump into a video chat. Skype is good. We use Free Video Chat and Video Conferencing from ooVoo

When you launch the program it will start your webcam for you and launch any other relevant software that you may need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 12-30-2010, 08:19 PM
 
1 posts, read 60,867 times
Reputation: 12
do you have to buy the webcam seperatly? i got one for christmas i can't figure out why the camera doesn't work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-04-2011, 12:54 AM
 
1,496 posts, read 1,136,750 times
Reputation: 731
He did not install webcam driver.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-22-2011, 09:30 PM
 
1 posts, read 60,017 times
Reputation: 17
oh my gosh i have a compaq laptop but ..it looks like it has a built in web cam....but it wont work on ooVoo so im upset plz help and i tried to plug up another web cam and it wont work iether like what do i do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $74,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 PM.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top