U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
 
Old 12-01-2009, 11:36 AM
 
Location: Lakeland, FL
326 posts, read 1,146,365 times
Reputation: 127

Advertisements

Recently we bought a new webcam and downloaded skype onto our home computer so DF can talk to his mom over in Costa Rica. Well ever since then my computer is not responding to anything. It takes an hour for it to respond to one click and even then when it does try to respond it will end up freezing. I can't do anything on it right now...

Does anybody have any suggest on what to do?

I really don't want to have to take to get serviced but if that's my only option around how much would that cost?

I'm really worried because stupid me hasn't backed up any of our pictures.
Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-01-2009, 11:46 AM
 
2,893 posts, read 5,165,166 times
Reputation: 1973
Have you tried unplugging the webcam and uninstalling skype?
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-01-2009, 12:19 PM
 
Location: Lakeland, FL
326 posts, read 1,146,365 times
Reputation: 127
Nope... do you think that will work?

Suppose I could give it a try... right now it's hard to get it to respond to anything so it will take me all day to even uninstall skype.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-01-2009, 12:23 PM
 
2,893 posts, read 5,165,166 times
Reputation: 1973
Yeah, I think that you had a working system before Webcam+skype. So first unplug webcam and see if it gets better. If not, uninstall skype. If it gets better after one of these, you will know which one is causing the problem.

I'm assuming you've already tried rebooting.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-01-2009, 12:24 PM
 
2,893 posts, read 5,165,166 times
Reputation: 1973
Also, you can press Ctrl+Alt+Del, select Task Manager and look for any process that has it's CPU column at 100. That process is what is causing the problem.

If you can get that process we can probably get a better idea what is causing the problem.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-01-2009, 12:36 PM
 
Location: Lakeland, FL
326 posts, read 1,146,365 times
Reputation: 127
Ok... Thanks for your suggestions. I'll be trying this when I get home today.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-01-2009, 05:16 PM
 
10,683 posts, read 17,021,490 times
Reputation: 10116
Go to internet properties, programs tab, then manage add-ons tab, and disable any skype add-ons, they are known for causing this issue, skype should still work after you do this.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-07-2009, 06:16 PM
 
Location: Lakeland, FL
326 posts, read 1,146,365 times
Reputation: 127
Ok... it turns out it was Skype that was messing up my computer. I have uninstalled Skype and my computer works much better now but...

As I was trying to clean out my computer it seems I might have deleted my audio driver because my computer is no longer reconizing that I have my speakers hooked up. I have contacted emachine support and they briefly explained that my audio driver isn't available for download using my computer model but that I would have to look for the audio driver compatible for my motherboard. That was all they were able to tell me since my computer is no longer under warranty. I have searched and searched and haven't been able to come out with a good download.

Can somebody please help...

I have emachine W3115 Windows xp media center, motherboard FIC K8MC51G...

Thanks in advance.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-07-2009, 06:25 PM
 
10,683 posts, read 17,021,490 times
Reputation: 10116
Did you actually check their website rather than taking their word that you couldn't get drivers? I just looked and they have a Realtek audio driver available for your system. XP Media Center is a subset of XP pro, so the XP Pro driver should work.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-07-2009, 06:33 PM
 
Location: Lakeland, FL
326 posts, read 1,146,365 times
Reputation: 127
Yup... I downloaded that and it did nothing :-(
My computer still doesn't recognize my speakers.
Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:
Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top