U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-08-2010, 11:21 AM
 
Location: Heading to the NW, 4 sure.
4,470 posts, read 6,615,374 times
Reputation: 8648

Advertisements

I have a Gateway desk top and a Gateway wireless keyboard/mouse.
They are from 2006.
Problem: the device? that transmits the signal from the mouse and keyboard is plugged into a port, but the device has a button on it that I have to hit every few seconds or so or the mouse will not work?
I have new batts in the mouse at all times.

Also, the computer doesn't always start when the start button is pushed.

Helpful ideas???are appreciated.

HW
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-08-2010, 07:25 PM
 
26,890 posts, read 38,142,724 times
Reputation: 34834
Hmmmmm.

If I'm getting this picture correctly the button on the plug in device has a corresponding button on the mouse. Look at the bottom of the mouse for a similar button. Usually you push the button on the mouse first, then the one on the device. They then set up communication and work together. If they don't one or the other (likely the mouse since the keyboard is working) is faulty.

An off-the-wall solution to the power button on the PC:

Look at the back of your computer when you are connected to the Internet. Notice where the LAN cable connects. There should be a blinking light there.

The next time the PC won't start from the button look at the back of the computer again. If the light is not lit then there is no power to the PC. This points to the power cable or power supply. I would be more suspicious of the power cable since once a power supply is dead, it's dead. Besides it's cheaper and easier to replace the cable as a test.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-09-2010, 09:45 AM
 
Location: Heading to the NW, 4 sure.
4,470 posts, read 6,615,374 times
Reputation: 8648
Yes, power is on to the computer. I have to manually turn it off and then unplug the computer from the power and wait a while then plug it back in and push the button on the front of the computer for it to start.
The mouse button works but to activate the remote I have to push the remote device button every few minutes as it like times out.

Thanks for your help.
HW
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top