U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 04-20-2010, 03:49 PM
 
739 posts, read 2,051,260 times
Reputation: 349

Advertisements

Does anyone know if they make such a thing. My computer only has 24 GB DDR3, a i7 cpu, 2 2GB video cards and a 4 channel raid controller with 128 MB battery back cache and 4 137GB drives in raid 5. So its kind of slow.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-20-2010, 04:16 PM
 
Location: Whittier
3,007 posts, read 5,236,729 times
Reputation: 3047
This is a joke but I'm too much of a nerd not to answer.

They make Dual Xeon ATX server boards, and Micro-ATX server boards, but I haven't seen the two combined.

BTW not RAIDing SSDs FTL.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-20-2010, 04:23 PM
 
28,673 posts, read 40,858,191 times
Reputation: 37401
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-20-2010, 11:29 PM
 
Location: Western Bexar County
3,823 posts, read 13,506,296 times
Reputation: 1908
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad.roper View Post
Does anyone know if they make such a thing. My computer only has 24 GB DDR3, a i7 cpu, 2 2GB video cards and a 4 channel raid controller with 128 MB battery back cache and 4 137GB drives in raid 5. So its kind of slow.
What, no USB 3.0??? Definitely time for you to upgrade to a new system...and don't be so cheap next time!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-24-2010, 02:12 AM
 
Location: Mableton, GA USA (NW Atlanta suburb, 4 miles OTP)
11,319 posts, read 22,817,129 times
Reputation: 3896
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad.roper View Post
Does anyone know if they make such a thing. My computer only has 24 GB DDR3, a i7 cpu, 2 2GB video cards and a 4 channel raid controller with 128 MB battery back cache and 4 137GB drives in raid 5. So its kind of slow.
Man, that sounds like a wimpy system. Will DOS even boot?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-24-2010, 02:30 AM
 
Location: Silicon Valley
3,685 posts, read 8,544,511 times
Reputation: 2978
Core i7? That's your problem, you're going with a crappy low-end desktop CPU instead of a Nehalem-based Xeon with double the number of cores. You wouldn't need that second socket with a Westmere or Beckton processor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2020, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top