U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-14-2010, 11:00 AM

19,115 posts, read 10,974,172 times
Default Need dvd install help

This is my first time.
I mistook a FDD1 port for a IDE port, and there is only one IDE port.

The current port has a dvd writer and the hard drive. I want to install another dvd writer as a slave, and there is no port.

Can I buy a IDE ribbon cable with another plug?

The tower is a no name with AMD 64 Athlon X2 the HD is 125 gig
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-14-2010, 11:31 AM

2,893 posts, read 3,473,487 times
Yeesh,you're still using IDE?

Short answer, no, you cannot have more than two devices on a single IDE channel.

I'm surprised your system does not have a second IDE plug. It should be near the first one. If it does not, then you are out of luck, and have maxed out the available drive slots for that computer.

Does this motherboard not have SATA on it? It should be a small l-shaped plug. Looks like this:

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:J...s_101/sata.jpg
http://images.tomshardware.com/2005/11/23/pc_interfaces_101/sata.jpg (broken link)

Old 05-14-2010, 12:26 PM

2,507 posts, read 4,143,497 times