U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 01-24-2011, 10:49 PM

26 posts, read 24,695 times
Default 35K income enough to survive on my own?

Hello everyone,

I have searched, and read up and done some homework on if I can afford to live on my own. Now, the last step is to ask people who actually have real experience.

Let me tell you all a bit about myself...

-I Graduated Platt Tech class of 2010.
-19 Years old
-Steady relationship of almost 3 years.
-Been in the workforce since 16
-Had my license since 16
-Owned 3 cars, current one is an 04 VW Passat
-Plan on financing a newer Passat with a monthly payment of $210.
-Born and raised between Bridgeport/Shelton/Milford.
-Taking a couple night classes at housatonic towards a degree.

Been looking at two 2 bedroom apartments in Fairfield close to Blackrock, and a place closer to the merrit parkway, both 850<. I will be commuting to Wilton on the merrit parkway side of town.

I currently make 35K+ a year with benefits with potential for expansion within a year or so. My girlfriend can only help out maybe 300-400 a month after her expenses.

Any suggestions? Input? How about westport? North end bridgeport?

Thanks,

-Dan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Unread 01-25-2011, 06:00 AM

11,342 posts, read 10,710,286 times
Dan,