U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-09-2013, 01:42 PM
 
Location: Coastal Connecticut
14,783 posts, read 18,020,515 times
Reputation: 3354

Advertisements

I got rid of Optimum a few years ago in favor of Uverse. I won't be going back and would like the cable line removed. I don't need 2 off the house and it would look cleaner.

Are they obligated to remove it off my property or would I have to pay to have it removed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-09-2013, 01:45 PM
 
3,720 posts, read 4,448,881 times
Reputation: 4741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylo View Post
I got rid of Optimum a few years ago in favor of Uverse. I won't be going back and would like the cable line removed. I don't need 2 off the house and it would look cleaner.

Are they obligated to remove it off my property or would I have to pay to have it removed?
I don't know. You could ask them to remove it and see what they say. Also find out how much it would cost to get it put back up. You may decide you want to keep the cable line just in case.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-09-2013, 08:36 PM
 
2,732 posts, read 2,494,804 times
Reputation: 1218
I had the same issue and asked the AT&T tech if he could remove it. He said its property of Cablevision and he can't touch it, and good luck getting them to come out and remove it. The nor'easter last year took care of the problem when my utility lines were torn down by a tree branch. I gathered the cable and hung it at the base of the utility pole. it's out of my way and Cablevision can take it back if they want to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-09-2013, 10:59 PM
 
2,893 posts, read 2,973,236 times
Reputation: 1424
U-Verse, really? Optimum and Fios are much better from a pricing, speed, and stability standpoint. I've been pretty impressed with CVC since Sandy--- somehow I had full service despite every pole and utility/power line being on the ground for over a week.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-10-2013, 07:33 AM
 
2,732 posts, read 2,494,804 times
Reputation: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilton2ParkAve View Post
U-Verse, really? Optimum and Fios are much better from a pricing, speed, and stability standpoint. I've been pretty impressed with CVC since Sandy--- somehow I had full service despite every pole and utility/power line being on the ground for over a week.
Fios isn't available, so it's not an option. Cablevision has some of the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. Missed appointments, etc. 80' era UI on their boxes was also a big turnoff. Plus the constant fights with content providers gets old real quick. And god forbid you have to go to one of their "service" centers - be prepared to spend half the morning waiting in line. Frankly, I don't know if you could pay me to go back to them.

I have been very happy with uverse. Had service all through sandy, service appointments are next day and the techs show up on time. And of all the people I know who have switched to uverse have not switched back to Cablevision.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-10-2013, 11:31 AM
 
Location: Coastal Connecticut
14,783 posts, read 18,020,515 times
Reputation: 3354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilton2ParkAve View Post
U-Verse, really? Optimum and Fios are much better from a pricing, speed, and stability standpoint. I've been pretty impressed with CVC since Sandy--- somehow I had full service despite every pole and utility/power line being on the ground for over a week.
I can't get FiOS. Optimum was terrible. Worst customer service experience I've ever had. Well, Charter is close.

U-Verse has a 100x better set top box, I'm paying less, and the speeds are fine. Customer service has been excellent.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-10-2013, 11:37 AM
 
Location: Coastal Connecticut
14,783 posts, read 18,020,515 times
Reputation: 3354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike 75 View Post
80' era UI on their boxes was also a big turnoff.
I used one of their new boxes recently. UI has stepped up to about 2002 but they are incredibly slow. Trying to flip through channels is painful.

And yes, after constant awful service I returned my equipment only to wait in line for hours in a hot, dirty disgusting service center. When I had a problem with a Uverse router, they overnighted me a new one with a slip to give to the local UPS store to pack and ship the old one. Easy!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-10-2013, 11:42 AM
 
8,780 posts, read 16,280,668 times
Reputation: 5219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylo View Post
I used one of their new boxes recently. UI has stepped up to about 2002 but they are incredibly slow. Trying to flip through channels is painful.

And yes, after constant awful service I returned my equipment only to wait in line for hours in a hot, dirty disgusting service center. When I had a problem with a Uverse router, they overnighted me a new one with a slip to give to the local UPS store to pack and ship the old one. Easy!
The newer Samsung cable boxes are ridiculously slow. They don't need to be rebooted as often as the Scientific boxes did, but i think i might go back to the Scientific anyway....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-10-2013, 01:22 PM
 
2,732 posts, read 2,494,804 times
Reputation: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylo View Post
I used one of their new boxes recently. UI has stepped up to about 2002 but they are incredibly slow. Trying to flip through channels is painful.

And yes, after constant awful service I returned my equipment only to wait in line for hours in a hot, dirty disgusting service center. When I had a problem with a Uverse router, they overnighted me a new one with a slip to give to the local UPS store to pack and ship the old one. Easy!
Let me guess, you went to the one in Bridgeport?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-10-2013, 01:40 PM
 
2,893 posts, read 2,973,236 times
Reputation: 1424
I've never had to go in. I just have them send me a prepaid shipping label. It's been 12 years so not likely.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
View detailed profiles of:
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top