U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-26-2006, 07:35 PM

1 posts, read 4,842 times

Advertisements

Hi. I'm a special ed teacher with a 5 year old daugther , looking to relocate from Long Island where it's become next to impossible to have any true quality of life. I've been looking into the New Fairfield area and we even took a day trip to the area, picnicking at Squantz Pond. It was absolutely beautiful! Based on computer searchces, schools look great. We plan to visit and drive through more neighborhoods very soon (possibly this weekend). Any thoughts, suggestions, advice? What can you tell me about the area; neighborhoods, schools? A good family relocation spot?
Also, any tips on teaching jobs would be awesome (preferably NY side to keep my pension, but considering a good job/ district in CT) .... hoping for short commute (back to the 'quality of life' piece) THANKS!!!:
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-26-2006, 09:16 PM

2,178 posts, read 5,755,693 times
I live just south of New Fairfield, in Danbury (my house is up by the tall hotel you see by exit 2). The area as a whole has a much higher quality of life, and is much more affordable. The town of New Fairfield will not become like Long Island (in the built up sort of sense) because of the strict zoning regulations. It took 6 years for an aquinatance of mine to get approval for a 8 lot subdivision.