Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-26-2015, 04:53 PM

40 posts, read 37,833 times

Advertisements

My wife and I have considered moving from the Hudson Valley. Four cities we considered were Buffalo, Cincinnati, Hartford, and Pittsburgh. I have my masters in computer science from SUNY New Paltz and my wife has her masters in teaching from Marist College. We can spend around $400,000 for a house and plan on moving sometime in 2016. Just tell me what Hartford is like and some nice areas to consider. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-26-2015, 05:39 PM

1,607 posts, read 3,090,219 times
Are you going to work or live in Hartford? I would live in Glastonbury again if I had to move back to Ct. Anywhere north of I-84 in Hartford is pretty shady..

Old 05-01-2015, 06:46 PM

9 posts, read 6,214 times
Farmington is a nice town - lowest taxes west of Hartford by far, housing prices are great right now, and if you have children, the schools are excellent. It's about 13 miles to downtown Hartford. Hartford itself is one of those cities that has been trying to get some kind of New Urbanism thing going since I was a teenager at least during the 1970s with some success, although there are some great restaurants and maybe not as much cultural life as Pittsburgh or Cincinnati, but on the other hand it's less than three hours from either Boston or New York.

Old 05-01-2015, 07:13 PM

4,716 posts, read 5,958,998 times