U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 06:23 PM

3 posts, read 3,465 times

Advertisements

Hey gang,

Just stumbled upon you guys today, thought I'd throw myself into the deep end. (Don't flame my post just yet.)

I'm a 28-year-old lifelong California native who just took a job in Fairfield, Connecticut. I've lived briefly in the UK and South Africa, but no states other than CA.

I'm a total CT noob and have spent a total of six hours in your great state.

I guess I'm asking what I should look for in an apartment, what I should pay, what surprises are in store for me, etc.

I've got a good new job and can afford a decent place. I pay $700 for one bedroom a nice 3BR place ($2100 total) here in San Diego. Is that far less than CT? I've heard it's expensive. I was paying a grand for a studio in LA when I was in grad school.

I'm not really a New York fan (despite the fact that I love music and urban fixed gear riding and artsy culture and that sort of thing...) so proximity to the city isn't really a selling point. I guess I'd rather be closer to work than closer to NYC but I know loads of people reverse commute up the highway from places like Stamford, etc.

What are your thoughts about Fairfield proper? Too sleepy for a single 28-yr-old? I'm pretty bookish and looking forward to a quieter pace (without the California dude-bros.) Where do young(ish) professional people live in Connecticut?

Is it possible to bike to work most of the year? How bad is the snow/winter? Should I bring my truck or sell it before I move? etc etc.