U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 05-05-2012, 05:05 PM
 
12,120 posts, read 28,962,310 times
Reputation: 3798

Advertisements

I bought a 32 inch Vizio flatscreen 3 years ago and it has been flawless. however im not getting any TV service because the cable box no longer displays the time, it now says "boot" or "Er1". on the Tv screen it says "retrieving data" or "no signal". the cable company is coming over tomorrow nite to check out the cable box which they believe has a malfunction

is it possible it could be the TV instead? it plays DVD's with no problem. if it is, i have a little over a month to take advantage of the extended warranty before it runs out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-05-2012, 06:27 PM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,740,286 times
Reputation: 17235
No i would say its your cable box...

Have you checked the coax and made sure its properly connected and its tight??

Have you tried hooking the wire DIRECTLY TO THE TV and see if you then get signal??


Good luck buddy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2012, 06:45 PM
 
12,120 posts, read 28,962,310 times
Reputation: 3798
thanks for the reply. last time i unplugged everything was when i did a cleaning job in 11/10. it's been running fine since then except for now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2012, 12:11 AM
 
15,237 posts, read 20,182,538 times
Reputation: 21576
When that happens to me, I unscrew the cable line, wait 10 minutes and screw it back in again. That solves the problem 99% of the time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-09-2012, 01:57 PM
 
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
5,224 posts, read 13,630,390 times
Reputation: 7460
If that doesn't work, tell the cable company you want a new box...see if that will work. If it was the TV, dvd's wouldn't play.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-09-2012, 04:04 PM
 
12,120 posts, read 28,962,310 times
Reputation: 3798
they told me they believe something is wrong with the box. they arranged for someone to come over Sunday night between 8 and 11; the guy called at 9:15, said he'd be over at 9:45 and never showed up or called. i was so pissed at them i hung up on them twice for ruining my night (making me stay in my apt) and cutting down on my sleep. i made another appt Thursday between 8 and 11. hopefully they will show up this time. they have been reliable in the past even on SUnday nites i don't know what happened this time
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-09-2012, 06:25 PM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,663 posts, read 75,373,227 times
Reputation: 36174
When your TV gets a signal (like from DVD), it displays. When it gets no signal (from your cable box), it alerts you to that effect. It's your cable box. The cable company can normally tweak your cable box remotely, while you are on the phone with the CS person who is doing that. If they said they were sending someone out, it's because they tried to tweak it and couldn't. Don't worry about your TV, its fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-09-2012, 06:37 PM
 
12,120 posts, read 28,962,310 times
Reputation: 3798
i love the TV and i'm glad i got it. Consumer Reports said the Vizio 32" was the best value. now if they would turn on the water in my apartment, inconvenience after inconvenience...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-13-2012, 03:07 PM
 
12,120 posts, read 28,962,310 times
Reputation: 3798
yes it was the cable box and they replaced it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-13-2012, 05:02 PM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,740,286 times
Reputation: 17235
Yup,assumed it was


Im glad its working again!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top