U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 06-20-2012, 04:38 PM
 
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
656 posts, read 1,822,542 times
Reputation: 796

Advertisements

Hello all,
I just got a Roku device. I set it up on my girlfriend's old school tv and it worked fine. I just brought it back to my place and set it up but it's only transmitting a black and white screen. I also have an old school tv and I'm using the video cable that came w/ the device (Yellow, red, white) to connect it to the TV. I also have a PS2 that I connect to this TV and I plugged it in via video cables and the screen works fine w/ transmitting color images so thus I know it's not the TV. Any thoughts on what the problem is? THX
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-20-2012, 05:34 PM
 
8,402 posts, read 20,663,341 times
Reputation: 6782
Are you sure you're connecting to the correct terminals on the back of the Roku? I can't think of any reason why this would happen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2012, 06:56 PM
 
Location: Houston
471 posts, read 1,375,248 times
Reputation: 338
Maybe the Roku is tapping into MeTV. (if you regularly watch OTA channels you'll understand!)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-21-2012, 12:10 AM
 
40,212 posts, read 41,799,403 times
Reputation: 16754
Assuming your TV only has RCA jacks which *should* be color coded yellow, red and white, make sure the yellow jack on the Roku device is connected to the yellow jack on the TV, that is the only one that carries video. The red and white are audio.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-21-2012, 07:48 PM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,540 posts, read 24,674,751 times
Reputation: 8930
If it works on hers and not yours using the same connections then seat the yellow wire further in. You are not making enough contact inside the center hole. Also if you still own a VCR, plug it into that and set the input to LINE on the VCR (connected to cable connection on the TV) and see what happens with the VCR connected to the TV.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-22-2012, 04:46 PM
 
Location: sowf jawja
1,940 posts, read 8,304,192 times
Reputation: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lije Baley View Post
Maybe the Roku is tapping into MeTV. (if you regularly watch OTA channels you'll understand!)

My 7 year old LOVES that channel. I think most of our media center recordings now come from MeTV.

Sent from my BlackBerry 9330 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top