U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:39 AM
 
Location: Blue Ridge
20,885 posts, read 22,598,888 times
Reputation: 8630

Advertisements

Quote:
We only have one big TV. I hadn't paid any attention to the humidity, though. Maybe I'll keep a log.
Is this an apartment or a house? If its an apartment replace the coax cable from the wall to the box (your TV uses HDMI from the box to your TV? Correct?). If its a house then you may have to replace the cable to the point of where it enters the home. You may want to put a service call for them to check the cable from the house/aaprtment to their main connection to see if there is any loss in signal strength.
Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-16-2012, 05:09 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 8,753,063 times
Reputation: 1627
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilVA View Post
Is this an apartment or a house? If its an apartment replace the coax cable from the wall to the box (your TV uses HDMI from the box to your TV? Correct?). If its a house then you may have to replace the cable to the point of where it enters the home. You may want to put a service call for them to check the cable from the house/aaprtment to their main connection to see if there is any loss in signal strength.
Yep, it's a house. I'll talk to them to see if this can be adjusted. Might even help speed up my computer, who knows?
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-16-2012, 11:08 PM
 
37,049 posts, read 38,169,365 times
Reputation: 14796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian.Pearson View Post
Come to think of it, I don't even know where the box is. I'll take a look. I may just go to the company and ask them point blank.
I'm talking about the cable box that connects to the TV. When you power it on there is specific sequence of buttons that will bring up the diagnostic panel.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-17-2012, 07:20 AM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 8,753,063 times
Reputation: 1627
It would be nice to learn something, but I'm not very techie-oriented. Actually my wife is better than I at it, but even she wouldn't venture into that territory. Next time I roll by the company, I'll ask about checking it. I think sometimes they can do things from there to our TV.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-15-2013, 06:02 PM
 
1 posts, read 8,040 times
Reputation: 11
I have Charter Cable. SInce yesterday morning, I have been experiencing the tiling of the screen but it's only been on the 3 major network channels. I have 2 tv's and am experiencing this problem on both. Is there anything I can do besides having the Cable company come out?
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-17-2013, 08:43 AM
 
Location: East of Seattle since 1992, originally from SF Bay Area
28,302 posts, read 50,365,166 times
Reputation: 28460
We had a terrible time watching the Sunday night football game because of very bad pixelation that also affected the sound (Comcast). Turned out to be the severe lightning storms in the area, which I would not have though to affect something hard-wired, but after the weather cleared it's gone back to normal.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2013, 08:04 PM
 
Location: Mableton, GA USA (NW Atlanta suburb, 4 miles OTP)
11,319 posts, read 21,865,715 times
Reputation: 3848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemlock140 View Post
We had a terrible time watching the Sunday night football game because of very bad pixelation that also affected the sound (Comcast). Turned out to be the severe lightning storms in the area, which I would not have though to affect something hard-wired, but after the weather cleared it's gone back to normal.
One of the problems I've always had with the move to digital cable is the fact that you end up with pixelation rather than static.

Video with static is often watchable, if not optimally. I've found pixelated video to often be completely unwatchable.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-21-2013, 09:12 AM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: Ohio
16,403 posts, read 32,162,317 times
Reputation: 12686
Cable will send you less bandwidth from the original signal than you'll get from over-the-air reception of the same station. On the average prime-time show that doesn't feature much action, this is less noticeable. On sports, that feature lots of action, the result of getting less bandwidth is pixelation. When possible, watch your sports with an antenna, rather than cable.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2013, 10:03 AM
 
2,538 posts, read 3,878,402 times
Reputation: 3311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo View Post
Cable will send you less bandwidth from the original signal than you'll get from over-the-air reception of the same station. On the average prime-time show that doesn't feature much action, this is less noticeable. On sports, that feature lots of action, the result of getting less bandwidth is pixelation. When possible, watch your sports with an antenna, rather than cable.
Yes, this is rarely a hardware issue. It is most likely the source, which is the cable company over compressing the signal. Some OTA is also bad. One of stations near me crams one HD and three SD on to a single station. All of them look like crap. Trying to watch football is impossible. It looks like a bad youtube video.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2013, 11:01 AM
 
37,049 posts, read 38,169,365 times
Reputation: 14796
There is two things that are similar but completely different issues that can cause this. With digital it's all or nothing. You have a bunch of 1's and 0's and if you don't have all of them the video can display large blocks of solid color and would be unrelated to the content. If the sound is missing or corrupt then that is the issue. If it's OTA you need a better antenna, if it's cable it could be a variety of things like a weak signal caused by the cable being split too many times. It's absolutely unwatchable.

Over compression is the other issue but will manifest as something related to the content especially where you have fast moving objects. You can also see this in things like scenes where there is a sky with slightly varying shades or if you have flashes of light like lightning. In the following image this is too compressed, the lights are moving fast so you get macroblocking. If this is cable or OTA you can't fix this becsue it's the source.

Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:
Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top