U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-06-2012, 01:41 PM
 
Location: new jersey
42 posts, read 60,486 times
Reputation: 48

Advertisements

I have Roku XD, and subscribe to Netflix, Pub-d-hub and other channels through the Roku box. Is it at all possible to watch without the annoying floating screen that is present in everything that I watch. It is similar to looking out a window with a screen, rather than looking through an open, clear window.It is especially more annoying when watching black & white movies, which I prefer, because the floating screen is much more obvious in darker scenes. Would the Roku XD 2 clear up this problem?
I have an HD television, and even the HD shows and movies on the Roku do not come out any different, or better. I tried the Roku on a different HD television in a different room but with the same result.
ANY help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-06-2012, 06:02 PM
 
40,212 posts, read 41,799,403 times
Reputation: 16754
What speed is your internet connection?

You can test it here:

Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-06-2012, 09:03 PM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,540 posts, read 24,674,751 times
Reputation: 8930
The floating screen should only come up when the Roku is idle as it is a screensaver. If its floating while you are actually watching something then there is a problem with it. Internet speed is not the issue, since Roku's buffer a certain amount of info before it displays on your TV. Its an old box so you should try a factory reset before replacing it.

From the Roku home screen, select settings > factory reset, and follow the on-screen instructions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2012, 12:29 PM
 
Location: new jersey
42 posts, read 60,486 times
Reputation: 48
Default Roku/Netflix

I tried the speedtest.net. Results as follows:
PING 54ms....Download speed 0.98Mbps....Upload speed 0.37Mbps

The floating screen I mention is not the screensaver. It is akin to looking out a screen window compared to looking out a window without a screen in front of it. And it is more obvious in night, or darker scenes of whatever one is watching.

Again, thank you for reading this and for any information you may share with me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2012, 01:13 PM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,540 posts, read 24,674,751 times
Reputation: 8930
Quote:
Originally Posted by owlraven View Post
I tried the speedtest.net. Results as follows:
PING 54ms....Download speed 0.98Mbps....Upload speed 0.37Mbps
That doesn't sound right. Who is your provider? If you run Netflix on your home computer what does it look like?

Unplug your modem and router from electricity for at least 30 seconds and then run the speedtest again. Currently your barely above dialup speed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2012, 01:27 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,825 posts, read 13,961,605 times
Reputation: 8060
That's actually a LOT faster then dial up speed, but overall I agree with NielVA. That's REALLY low. The cheapest DSL package you can get will get you a higher number than that...
Dialup measured in Mbps would be like .007 mbps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2012, 01:39 PM
 
Location: new jersey
42 posts, read 60,486 times
Reputation: 48
Default Roku/Netflix

My internet provider is Verizon. I just called yesterday to ask about FIOS or any other faster speeds for internet and they say that my area isn't equipped for a faster speed service. I am in central NJ.
Do you think my problem lies in the internet speed, or the Roku device itself?
Watching Netflix on the laptop results in the same floating mini squares, like looking through a screen. However, on a Nook tablet the screen is fine. No floating screen, just a little bit of snowy interference.
Thanks, people...I appreciate all replies.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2012, 03:57 PM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,540 posts, read 24,674,751 times
Reputation: 8930
As per your notes you are having the same problem on two different devices (laptop & Roku). Correct? Bypass the router and plug your notebook directly into the modem via the ethernet cable. If the problem still exists, call Verizon and have them reset the signal from their side. If it still doesn't correct situation, replace modem.


FYI Verizon DSL has been attempted to force its customers to switch to FIOS by dropping the signal strength for a few years now.So the numbers you quoted are correct for your state as they list the speed at a max of 1mb(1024/384 DSL ). Since FIOS is not available in your area, then check on cable providers.

Also since your bandwith is so low, make sure all items that can recieve internet signal are powered completely off except for the actual item you are using.

Last edited by Pruzhany; 09-07-2012 at 04:10 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2012, 06:32 PM
 
40,212 posts, read 41,799,403 times
Reputation: 16754
Quote:
Originally Posted by owlraven View Post
I tried the speedtest.net. Results as follows:
PING 54ms....Download speed 0.98Mbps....Upload speed 0.37Mbps

The floating screen I mention is not the screensaver. It is akin to looking out a screen window compared to looking out a window without a screen in front of it. And it is more obvious in night, or darker scenes of whatever one is watching.

Again, thank you for reading this and for any information you may share with me.
I would have to assume what you're seeing is artifacts caused by the slow speeds of your internet connection. The slower the speed on your connection the lower quality video Probably something similar to the lights in this image:





If you want some reasonable video you'll need something in the 6Mbps range. What speed do they advertise for your plan?



--edit---

I'm not familiar with these services but if you're choosing HD and they have an option for SD or a lower quality try that. You'll lose detail but the macroblocks will go away. 1Mbps would be capable of something comparable to low quality DVD.

Last edited by thecoalman; 09-07-2012 at 06:43 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-08-2012, 12:38 PM
 
Location: new jersey
42 posts, read 60,486 times
Reputation: 48
Default Roku/Netflix

Yes, my television looks the same way as the video you posted, but the little squares are floating around continuously and are a big distraction. And I am one who watches many vcr tapes, some of which are old and I have to do a lot of tracking to get a decent picture. How I wish for the days with my big, old Panasonic television and vcr tapes that played instantly and simply.
So, the problem lies in the internet connection and not the Roku player is what you folks are telling me?
Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top