U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 10-02-2015, 11:02 AM
 
Location: Southern New Hampshire
7,460 posts, read 13,097,549 times
Reputation: 23180

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
Are you sure that is correct for that model TV? Most of the TV's I had/have used a discrete selection for RCA input, even with seperate front and back inputs. Googling I guess some use a channel selector which is nice feature and other channel selections. Double check it's not the TV with another VCR.
Hi Coalman! On the TV/VCRs (I have several) there are only RCA inputs on the front (nowhere else to plug anything in to them or out of them for that matter -- i.e. no other inputs or outputs), and you get to whatever is connected by going to channel 00 (AUX). I've done this a bunch of times with other things (e.g. DVD players). Alas, it's definitely not the connections.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
If you are getting nothing with it then it's probably junk. If you want a really good working VCR check here:

Marketplace Forum – The Digital FAQ – Video, Photo, Web Hosting

Note those are going to all be high end VCR's and will not be cheap. Look for ones from members with a history there.

Also look on CL for JVC's. The higher end JVC's can actually be very valuable.
I have bought in the past year or so a high-end Panasonic VCR and it works great. I bought the Emerson off ebay because I have so many other Emersons and the remotes are interchangeable (I rarely see a VCR being offered with its original remote, so that is usually an additional cost if you don't have one and IF you can find one for sale). I've generally had good luck with them. (I also feel safe buying through ebay since if something is DOA they will take care of it.)

I will check out that site, though -- most of these purchases are covered by discretionary funds at my job as I mostly use them to record things for research/teaching.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-13-2015, 04:57 AM
 
Location: Southern New Hampshire
7,460 posts, read 13,097,549 times
Reputation: 23180
Default UPDATE -- mea culpa, mea culpa

Just wanted to post an update. I bought another Emerson VCR on ebay to replace the one that didn't work ... but when I hooked it up to the TV in my office (exactly the way I had had a WORKING VCR hooked up), I got the same bad screens. I thought, "This cannot be happening again." I inadvertently switched the TV to channel 4, and lo and behold, there was the VCR's "menu" screen.

In my area it's channel 3 that is supposed to work, not channel 4, so I can't figure out why it worked (the setting on the back must have been channel 4, and I didn't check it before hooking the VCR up, but I thought you had to have it on the setting for the "right" channel in your area, so honestly I find this a bit confusing). I just kept it on channel 4 and was able to get the tuner and program it without a problem.

THEN, of course, I went back to the "bad" VCR and tried again ... and it worked this time. (I KNOW I tried switching the channel 3/4 button on the back of the "bad" VCR when I was trying things several days ago, but I didn't switch the TV channel at the same time, so I guess that's why it didn't work? Hmmm.)

Anyway, I emailed the seller that I got it to work (told him it was my fault, I felt pretty silly actually) and a check is going out to him today since he already refunded me (no Paypal fees that way!).

Happy ending!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-13-2015, 07:32 AM
 
40,292 posts, read 41,843,525 times
Reputation: 16805
Quote:
Originally Posted by karen_in_nh_2012 View Post
In my area it's channel 3 that is supposed to work, not channel 4, so I can't figure out why it worked (the setting on the back must have been channel 4, and I didn't check it before hooking the VCR up, but I thought you had to have it on the setting for the "right" channel in your area, so honestly I find this a bit confusing). I just kept it on channel 4 and was able to get the tuner and program it without a problem.
This is legacy thing, the 3/4 switch is used because one or the other would not have a local broadcast, typically channel 3. It could cause interference. Never had an issue with this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-10-2015, 12:34 AM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,752,943 times
Reputation: 17235
Smile *

Quote:
Originally Posted by karen_in_nh_2012
I thought, "This cannot be happening again." I inadvertently switched the TV to channel 4, and lo and behold, there was the VCR's "menu" screen.
I was just going to tell you to try this..... Im glad to see you did anyway


I love my VCR!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top