U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 11-06-2015, 04:34 AM
 
11,098 posts, read 13,112,452 times
Reputation: 4203

Advertisements

I ordered a free digital adapter from my cable company about 3 or 4 years ago, back when they announced that some channels were going digital. It's been sitting in the box unopened since it arrived, because the number of affected channels hasn't really bothered me enough to try to fix my TV.

Now they are announcing that a few more channels are going digital. A couple of channels have already gone out. But this time there is a picture announcing that message. I think a few years ago I had to remove the channel from my TV for some reason. Is this box I ordered a few years ago going to be useful for this upcoming change as well? Is it difficult to install?

I wish I had just scheduled for a technician to come out and install it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-06-2015, 06:02 AM
 
11,098 posts, read 13,112,452 times
Reputation: 4203
Okay, I just tried to set it up through my DVD player. But the DVD player doesn't have an HDMI input.

Now I'm wondering if I have to get a new DVD player or if there is an adapter for this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2015, 11:32 AM
 
40,266 posts, read 41,830,220 times
Reputation: 16785
What kind of TV do you have?

Which adapter or cable box?

Which cable plan?

A "digital adapter" is a term usually used for just a very small box that is cheap alternative to the full cable box. It's intended use was for addtional older TV's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2015, 05:08 PM
 
11,098 posts, read 13,112,452 times
Reputation: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
What kind of TV do you have?

Which adapter or cable box?

Which cable plan?

A "digital adapter" is a term usually used for just a very small box that is cheap alternative to the full cable box. It's intended use was for addtional older TV's.
It's a newer HD TV but I've got the very basic cable. I got it to work finally, BUT...

Now the DVD player doesn't work. I can't get the signal to come through. I connected it directly to the older style (non-HD) connector on the TV, but for some reason it's not coming through. I went through all the different Source signals and only the HDMI TV signal works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-08-2015, 08:19 PM
 
Location: Sarasota FL
6,865 posts, read 9,547,977 times
Reputation: 6592
If you have a plain ordinary DVD player, you shouldn't be running your 'cable service' to or through it.
DVD player should have HDMI or component or composite [RCA] on the rear. what ever 'cables' you decide to use, they get connected to the same type connection on the TV [but keep main connection available for the cable company box i.e. if the cable box has HDMI, you would connect that to TV HDMI1]. When you want to watch a DVD, you use the TV remote [not the cable company remote] to change the 'input' source. Input sources should appear on the TV screen. You pick the one that matches the wires you used to connect the DVD player.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-08-2015, 08:24 PM
 
11,098 posts, read 13,112,452 times
Reputation: 4203
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4g4m View Post
If you have a plain ordinary DVD player, you shouldn't be running your 'cable service' to or through it.
DVD player should have HDMI or component or composite [RCA] on the rear. what ever 'cables' you decide to use, they get connected to the same type connection on the TV [but keep main connection available for the cable company box i.e. if the cable box has HDMI, you would connect that to TV HDMI1]. When you want to watch a DVD, you use the TV remote [not the cable company remote] to change the 'input' source. Input sources should appear on the TV screen. You pick the one that matches the wires you used to connect the DVD player.
Thanks. I thought it was something like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top