U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-23-2015, 08:28 AM

8,181 posts, read 4,646,752 times

Advertisements

I am a complete newbie, other than using the computer at work and calling the Help Desk every five minutes. Sick of high cable bills, so am looking to get HULU (for TV shows) and NETFLIX (for movies) online at home. If anyone can walk a complete novice through this, it would be greatly appreciated!

I assume I'll have to get an Internet connection from my local plant board (much cheaper than cable), order the two streaming services, and establish a non-work e-mail address for my Facebook account.

Am looking at pre-Thanksgiving sales and see a Toshiba laptop with Intel Pentium Processor, regularly $500, on sale for $300 (with Windows 10). Good buy? Again, any info would be very helpful; thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-23-2015, 09:11 AM

2,563 posts, read 2,871,197 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by otterhere View Post
I am a complete newbie, other than using the computer at work and calling the Help Desk every five minutes. Sick of high cable bills, so am looking to get HULU (for TV shows) and NETFLIX (for movies) online at home. If anyone can walk a complete novice through this, it would be greatly appreciated!

I assume I'll have to get an Internet connection from my local plant board (much cheaper than cable), order the two streaming services, and establish a non-work e-mail address for my Facebook account.