U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-02-2016, 04:19 PM

31,251 posts, read 48,366,338 times

Advertisements

My sister lives in rural area north of San Antonio TX on small property with elevation changes, lot of trees, and runs sheep...
She says she wants a drone to help w finding sheep if they stray or,just using to check,out conditions on the property...

I have no knowledge of good from bad drones...
Know they are a hot item with lot of models on market...
Don't know if it is possible to get one for what she wants w/o spending over 200$

She said not to,spend a lot since she would be learning its use...

What are features that are must haves?
Like return to home doesn't work on some models if drone is more than 6 ft from control...
That is not lot of distance...

What about cold weather use? Like in the 30s?
How much does that hamper battery strength?

Any suggestions for drones or website sites?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-02-2016, 05:52 PM

12,446 posts, read 11,249,207 times
You'll need to specify...
Target cost
Total weight
Type of video (recorded, first-person, resolution)
Transmitter required or provided
Range of operation
Payload
Flight time
Self-landing capability
Repair parts availability

I've been flying R/C helicopters for years (before the concept of "drones"), so I have encountered all of these factors in my purchasing decisions.

BTW - cold weather does negatively impact the performance of lithium polymer batteries.

Old 12-02-2016, 07:55 PM