U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 04-07-2017, 03:20 PM
 
13,657 posts, read 7,123,197 times
Reputation: 13259

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by William Taylor View Post
It looks like the problem is with your TV's 60Hz "refresh rate." Before I purchased my HDTV, I was told to make sure that it had a 120Hz refresh rate. But here is some more information about refresh rates:



The Best TV Refresh Rate Is 120Hz (and Anything Higher Is a Lie)

Also, if you don't mind me asking... what forum was this thread moved from?
From that article:
Quote:
However, the 120-Hz refresh rate in this case refers to video with 120 different images per second, not some doctored-up version. In other words, the original content has to be shot at 120 frames per second, and at the moment there is no such content available for viewing.
I see I really screwed up with BR TV. (Black Friday frenzy) (wanting really cheap, but I thought I was getting same specs as in the LR) 780p. But I hardly ever watch it. Seems fine for what I do turn on in there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-07-2017, 04:02 PM
 
133 posts, read 66,824 times
Reputation: 180
Your problem lies in here:

https://www.reddit.com/r/BestOfAmazo...rime_video_tv/

Nothing you can do when companies want you to use JUST their products. So who is the a-hole? People in there said it's Amazon. oh well. Monopoly at its best. Right there.

I don't use amazon. I only use amazon to shop online that's it. I have a really good samsung smart TV and I don't have the problem that you have coz I don't use prime.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-08-2017, 06:22 AM
 
13,657 posts, read 7,123,197 times
Reputation: 13259
Quote:
Originally Posted by diyosa View Post
Your problem lies in here:

https://www.reddit.com/r/BestOfAmazo...rime_video_tv/

Nothing you can do when companies want you to use JUST their products. So who is the a-hole? People in there said it's Amazon. oh well. Monopoly at its best. Right there.

I don't use amazon. I only use amazon to shop online that's it. I have a really good samsung smart TV and I don't have the problem that you have coz I don't use prime.
That talks about people's TVs not letting them stream Prime. I don't have that problem. I stream HD content from them all the time.

Things included with Prime at no extra cost and sometimes Showtime or HBO add-on.

This is an issue only occurring when I buy TWD episodes from them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-10-2017, 02:23 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,853 posts, read 13,978,818 times
Reputation: 8083
So I finally read this. Not sure why you guys are referring to HZ. This has NOTHING to do with being able to stream. Just stop that right now. LOL You certainly can watch HD @ 60HZ.

Your TV is 1080P which is HD so you should be able to stream Hi Def that just fine. What you cannot stream is 4K. Also called ULTRA HD.

TWD is not "grainy" on my TV and should not be on your either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-10-2017, 06:33 PM
 
13,657 posts, read 7,123,197 times
Reputation: 13259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
So I finally read this. Not sure why you guys are referring to HZ. This has NOTHING to do with being able to stream. Just stop that right now. LOL You certainly can watch HD @ 60HZ.

Your TV is 1080P which is HD so you should be able to stream Hi Def that just fine. What you cannot stream is 4K. Also called ULTRA HD.

TWD is not "grainy" on my TV and should not be on your either.
But the 720p was a brain fart for the second TV wasn't it? Like if something happened to my LR TV I'd be upset with having to move this one in there ...... ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-10-2017, 11:42 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,853 posts, read 13,978,818 times
Reputation: 8083
No. You aren't going to see the difference between 720 and 1080 until you get to TV's that are 42" and larger. 720P is still considered HD and can still put out a pretty picture.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-11-2017, 02:26 PM
 
13,657 posts, read 7,123,197 times
Reputation: 13259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
No. You aren't going to see the difference between 720 and 1080 until you get to TV's that are 42" and larger. 720P is still considered HD and can still put out a pretty picture.
cool, thanks. It's a 32" for the BR I wasn't looking to spend a lot on that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top