U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 06-20-2017, 01:27 PM
 
1 posts, read 469 times
Reputation: 15

Advertisements

I can only get more or less lousy TV reception with my indoor square shaped rabbit ears antenna.
I have a Directv dish on my roof, but I don't subscribe to their service
I was wondering if it was possible to convert the dish to act as an antenna so I can receive the free broadcast channels?
If this is possible, I would appreciate some instructions on how to do it (if its not too technical) or better perhaps to get some recommendations for someone to do the work.

I looked at the cable coming out of the dish and followed it into the ground outside. I have no idea where it re-appears inside my home.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-20-2017, 01:34 PM
 
2,649 posts, read 2,864,731 times
Reputation: 2236
No. Satellite TV and over-the-air broadcast TV work on entirely separate frequencies. However, you might be able to re-use the cable that runs from the dish into your home if you mount a proper antenna (UHF plus high-VHF) near the current location of your dish. I say "might" because those cables are often not of high quality.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2017, 01:37 PM
 
6,800 posts, read 4,758,056 times
Reputation: 5345
http://itstillworks.com/turn-old-sat...nna-14437.html
How To Reuse a Digital Satellite Dish for Free Over-the-Air TV Channels | Apartment Therapy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2017, 10:08 PM
 
9,605 posts, read 12,539,198 times
Reputation: 15063
That's kind of a lot of needless wasted work just to do what wizard said. That's like telling a person to connect their TV to a power source by removing the back of the unused VCR that's plugged into an outlet; cut off the power plug to the TV and expose the wires; attach those exposed wires with jumper clips to the incoming a/c connections inside the VCR. Why not just unplug the VCR and plug in the TV?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top