U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 11-04-2019, 03:44 PM
 
82 posts, read 33,222 times
Reputation: 102

Advertisements

I just bought a new 100 watt transformer that was delivered today to my home. I need to plug in my european 230V cd player(once i receive it) into it to convert it to 110V as i plug in transformer into 110V wall socket. My cd player was not delivered to my home yet so i decided to test the converter with a 110V hair dryer that blew the fuse in this transformer right away. I seem to be confused as to how you select the input voltage of this converter(transformer). I can select the input voltage switch of this converter to either 110V or 220V. I imagine it must be switched to 110V since the wall sockets in canada/usa are 110V, is this correct? At the opposite end of this converter there are 2 sockets, 1 socket is for a canadian/usa plug that shows 110V under it and other socket is for a european/uk plug that shows 220V under it. So i plugged in my 110V hair dryer into the canada/usa 110V socket and it blew the fuse, why?

When my european 220V cd player arrives, i imagine the voltage input of the converter must remain at 110V and i must plug the european 230V plug into the european socket, is this all correct or will it blow a fuse again? Maby this transformer is defective? Im afraid to do another test as it may blow a new fuse i just put it.

Last edited by domic; 11-04-2019 at 04:02 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-04-2019, 03:57 PM
 
1,144 posts, read 331,142 times
Reputation: 535
hair dryers are 1000 watts or more..that why fuse blew
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2019, 04:08 PM
 
82 posts, read 33,222 times
Reputation: 102
OK IM EMBARRESSED TO SAY, it was a mistake to test this transformer with a 1500 watt hair dryer since it only gandles 100 watts, OOPS, sometimes i screw things up, but i still want to make sure when my european 230V cd player arrives, must the voltage input of this transformer be at 1110V as i plug in the european 230V plug into the 220V, i imagine so.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2019, 04:13 PM
 
82 posts, read 33,222 times
Reputation: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis44102 View Post
hair dryers are 1000 watts or more..that why fuse blew
I just posted that above, im embarressed, but since the wall sockets in canada/usa are 110V i imagine the input voltage switch of this transformer must be set at 110V as i plug the 230V european cd player into the european socket? Yes i believe so if im correct. I got worried up since that fuse blew but wow that was my silly mistake. Sometimes my mind goes hay wire- get it? wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2019, 09:17 PM
 
Location: Michigan
2,312 posts, read 1,579,636 times
Reputation: 5367
I believe it's likely that you'll find that "transformer" is used to plug into a European 230volt 50Hz outlet while you are on vacation in Europe, to convert it to 110volts 60Hz for our equipment you'd take with you over THERE.

It doesn't likely work backwards to allow OUR 110volt 60Hz outlet to put out 230volt 50Hz for a imported 230volt cd player.

If you can, post a link to the transformer that you bought, so we can try to figure out what's what.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2019, 09:28 PM
Status: "Enjoying life..." (set 12 days ago)
 
Location: San Antonio/Houston/Tricity
39,906 posts, read 57,741,604 times
Reputation: 93775
Did you buy this, OP?
https://www.amazon.com/VCT-VT-100GS-.../dp/B000NNGMJC

You probably need this: (MAYBE - depending on the Hz)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EBC5HSS...pa_dk_detail_1
or at least this: (which is superior quality)
https://www.amazon.com/3000W-Transfo...197633-9305248

The cost of that is most likely higher than the cost of a CD player you would buy in the US.

Max: 5000 Watt for 30 minutes of use.
For continuous use: 2500W. Make sure you multiply x2 the wattage of your item and get a transformer bigger than that.

Note: a voltage converter does NOT change the frequency, in other words, what goes in is what comes out, either 50 Hz or 60Hz.
Europe operates at 50 Hz. American frequency is 60 Hz. Even if you change the voltage from 220 to 110 (easy to do) the frequency difference can have serious effects on many devices, from faulty operation to destruction.

What kind of CD player will you get from Europe?
__________________
.
"No Copyrighted Material"
Moderated forums:
World, Europe, Texas, Corpus Christi, El Paso, Lubbock, Tyler, Houston, San Antonio, Tallahassee,
Minnesota, Fish, Home Interior Design and Decorating, Science and Technology Forums
.

Need help? Click on this: >>> ToS, Mod List, Rules & FAQ's, Guide, CD Home page, How to Search
Realtors are welcome here but do see our Realtor Advice to avoid infractions.

Last edited by elnina; 11-04-2019 at 09:48 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-05-2019, 07:18 AM
 
40,220 posts, read 41,815,454 times
Reputation: 16767
Quote:
Originally Posted by elnina View Post
The cost of that is most likely higher than the cost of a CD player you would buy in the US.

Europe used a different format for analog called PAL including the DVD's, if you want to view one you need PAL compatible equipment. There is another issue called region coding that only allows the DVD to be played on hardware with same region coding, even if you could find PAL DVD player marketed to US customers it may not play it because it's different region.



Note to the OP in case you are unaware, you'll also need PAL compatible TV. I'm not up on the compatibility with modern equipment but if the DVD player has HDMI output then I see no reason it shouldn't work with modern TV sold here in the US because it would be software issue. However if it only has RCA it's probably not going work because it would be hardware issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-05-2019, 09:43 AM
 
6,094 posts, read 2,771,054 times
Reputation: 17336
Bzzzt!


Pop!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2019, 12:09 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,825 posts, read 13,966,567 times
Reputation: 8068
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
Europe used a different format for analog called PAL including the DVD's
CD's Coalman. CD's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-09-2019, 06:21 AM
 
40,220 posts, read 41,815,454 times
Reputation: 16767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
CD's Coalman. CD's.

Someone edited their post or my post, I never make mistakes.


None of this makes sense then, just go buy a CD player.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top