U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
 
Old 09-05-2008, 02:26 AM
 
Location: Bay Area, CA
29,038 posts, read 45,609,739 times
Reputation: 20476

Advertisements

I have a DirecTV Plus DVR, and I know that you can record 2 channels at once, but can't figure out how... is this something I can do myself, or will I have to get a technician? I had one here yesterday to fix a connection - but unfortunately my roommate was the only one home, and I forgot to tell her to ask. The DTV website says the following, which doesn't make much sense to me:
"To use this feature, you'll need to ensure that two satellite inputs from a dual-Low Noise Blocker DIRECTV System dish antenna are connected to your DIRECTV Plus DVR. "

Can somebody translate this into lame-man terms for me?
Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-06-2008, 07:38 AM
 
Location: The Raider Nation._ Our band kicks brass
1,854 posts, read 8,828,974 times
Reputation: 2311
The Low noise block is known as an LNB. In layman's terms, that's the eyeball out on the end of your dish. Your DVR is actually two tuners in one box. It requires two input sources to do what it was designed for. That means you should have two cables connected to the back of the box. They should both say "satellite in". If you have easy access to your dish, you can also see if there is an extra connection not being used on the LNB. Some of the newer dishes have multiple LNBs to pick up several satellites at once. It gets real confusing from there.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2008, 01:45 AM
 
Location: Bay Area, CA
29,038 posts, read 45,609,739 times
Reputation: 20476
Thanks! Looks like I'll have to get a technician out here... I have the monthly "insurance" plan, so maybe that will cover the cost?

Oh, and LAYMAN - I knew I was spelling it wrong, LOLOL.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-11-2008, 10:28 AM
 
Location: Tucson, AZ
1,222 posts, read 4,607,648 times
Reputation: 858
Did you have it installed by someone w/Directv? Or did you install it yourself? If they installed it, they should have set it up for you to be able to record 2 shows at once - like South Range Fam said.

I still like my old non-HD Tivo unit that we now have in the bedroom. You can actually easily flip between the two tuners, so you can "save" a show in real time w/o recording it. I haven't found a way to do that w/Directv's HD DVR.
Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:
Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top