U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 11-17-2008, 07:22 PM
 
259 posts, read 952,869 times
Reputation: 130

Advertisements

Is this an ok place to post this question? I don't see a Thread for electronics and I think that's what I really need.

My TV is only a year old. Yesterday I noticed when I tried to change the volumn either lower or higher it took a number of seconds (about 10 seconds.) It also jumps to a much lower or higher volumn then I wanted. Also, when I try to change channels by either directly putting in the channel I want to watch or scanning the channels it is taking a long time. It used to change immediately. A couple of times when I put in the channel I want to watch a different channel appears.
My bedroom TV is working fine.

I did change the batteries in my remote control, but it didn't make any difference. Anybody out there have any ideas as to why this is happening? The way my luck has been going I'll probably need a new TV soon. The warrenty was good for only one year, just in time for it to start acting up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-17-2008, 09:09 PM
 
259 posts, read 952,869 times
Reputation: 130
Since my remote control isn't responding well to my TV I'm going to turn off the power for a few seconds to see if the corrects the problem. If that doesn't work guess I have to see a TV repair place.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-20-2008, 10:33 AM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: Ohio
16,908 posts, read 33,651,200 times
Reputation: 13878
Yes, this is the correct forum.

Replacing the remote with a $10 universal remote would be something to try. Even if it doesn't solve the problem, it's bound to be a less expensive thing to try than paying a technician to diagnose the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-20-2008, 04:40 PM
 
10,756 posts, read 18,017,874 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowie View Post
Yes, this is the correct forum.

Replacing the remote with a $10 universal remote would be something to try. Even if it doesn't solve the problem, it's bound to be a less expensive thing to try than paying a technician to diagnose the problem.
That's what I'd recommend, it'll tell you if it's the remote of the TV that is the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-20-2008, 06:54 PM
 
Location: Somewhere out there
18,288 posts, read 20,817,641 times
Reputation: 41092
Those universal remotes won't work on the newest DirectTV receivers you have to buy their remotes. Then program the remote into your satellite through a multiple of steps. We hate our new remotes; can't get them to program the VCR, DVD and no sleep timer buttons that we have found. Our old remotes won't work with these new receivers either with one being from DirectTV! Lose power you have to reset back to your fav channels as it defaults to the factory settings everytime. Grrrrrrr
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-20-2008, 07:03 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,210 posts, read 18,499,742 times
Reputation: 8052
What does the "troubleshooting" section of the manual say? Have you tried calling the manufacturer? Is the remote one that is capable of controlling multiple devices? If so, is the correct device selected?

You could also try unplugging the TV and pulling the batteries from the remote and letting them sit for 10 or 15 minutes with no juice whatsoever. Perhaps they just need a time out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-20-2008, 08:07 PM
 
Location: Somewhere out there
18,288 posts, read 20,817,641 times
Reputation: 41092
swagger are you asking the OP or me?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top