U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 03-14-2009, 10:29 AM
 
Location: Denver
627 posts, read 1,198,915 times
Reputation: 303
Default Can you hook up a DVR with only basic cable?

I was thinking that, since you can record stuff on TV with a VCR without any fancy equipment, then you could also do it with a DVR without a cable or satellite box. I have basic cable. Now, I'm being told that I'd have to upgrade my service to get a cable box to hook it up and pay at least $50 extra a month. That sounds crappy to me...I don't want to upgrade and get 100 new channels that I'll never watch.

Is there any way to hook it up without a cable or satellite box?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 03-14-2009, 12:22 PM
 
Location: USA
9,718 posts, read 3,848,711 times
Reputation: 31660
don't think so. You need their box with the built in DVR. I'm surprised they wanted 50.00 more. I pay I think about 7.95 for the box.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-14-2009, 04:29 PM
 
1,597 posts, read 529,540 times
Reputation: 487
A DVR won't work unless it is receiving the cable company's digital signal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-14-2009, 04:59 PM
 
Location: NW San Antonio
2,519 posts, read 5,167,508 times
Reputation: 2054
Well, since its, a Digital Video Recorder, I believe the acronym alone answers the question. Basic cable isn't Digital.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-14-2009, 06:14 PM
 
901 posts, read 1,711,688 times
Reputation: 532
You might be able to buy TIVO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-14-2009, 07:01 PM
 
1,597 posts, read 529,540 times
Reputation: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bella52 View Post
don't think so. You need their box with the built in DVR. I'm surprised they wanted 50.00 more. I pay I think about 7.95 for the box.
I'm sure that 7.95 fee just covers the monthly rental fee for the DVR, not the actual digital service itself. If it DOES cover the digital service, you've got one hell of a good deal there. But I think the extra $50 the OP is speaking of refers to the additional cable package that includes digital service. Basic cable itself is very cheap. But our digital service alone, minus phone and internet, is $85. Throw in the phone and internet and our monthly bill is over $130. This stuff ain't cheap, that's for sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-14-2009, 08:05 PM
FBJ
 
32,732 posts, read 20,971,395 times
Reputation: 7041
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinsativ View Post
Well, since its, a Digital Video Recorder, I believe the acronym alone answers the question. Basic cable isn't Digital.

Mr. Know It all strikes Again, you just have all the answers don't you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-15-2009, 01:34 AM
 
Location: Denver
627 posts, read 1,198,915 times
Reputation: 303
I ended up getting TiVo and it seems to be working out so far (no big issues on its first day). I was really surprised that it's only about $13 a month. I can definitely handle that. My cable company was trying to charge me about $70 extra to upgrade for 100 extra channels that I'd never watch. If I want to watch a movie, I'll get Netflix, thank you. I don't need all those bizarre, racy cable movie channels. Of course, it wasn't totally cheap. The TiVo box was $300

I not stressing out too much, though, I'll probably keep it for ten or more years. I have a habit of hanging onto things until they completely fall apart.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-15-2009, 05:44 AM
 
Location: NW Orlando
1,722 posts, read 2,439,241 times
Reputation: 1296
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinsativ View Post
Well, since its, a Digital Video Recorder, I believe the acronym alone answers the question. Basic cable isn't Digital.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-15-2009, 08:30 AM
 
Location: ɐpɐʌǝu 'sɐƃǝʌ sɐl
13,404 posts, read 8,992,279 times
Reputation: 6540
A DVR is just like a VCR. The "Digital" designation simply means that it records in a digital format (hard disk) instead of analog (videotape).

As you've already discovered, a TiVo will work just fine with basic cable.

I've been running a DVR in the form of a Windows Media Center PC for 4 or 5 years. It will do everything the TiVo does, plus store and play all my music, catalog pics from my digital camera, give me access to my DVD collection with the press of a button on the remote, access to virtually any online audio/video... I can even run Flight Simulator on my widescreen TV.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $79,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top