U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 09:29 PM

4 posts, read 3,446 times
Default (ANOTHER) relocation question Los Angeles to Dallas

I am a married young professional (32-is that young?) with a family of 3 children who is considering moving to Texas because I just cannot stand living in Los Angeles anymore. Homes are expensive, gas EVERYTHING!! My wife and I are self employed and our income is high even for this area here. Homes in my neighborhood for instance are about 600,000 for a late 50's rambler 2000-2500 sq ft and 9,000 sq ft lot. Now before we get started on what I can get in Texas for 600,000 I wanted to voice a few concerns.

First I don't want to spend that much, I would like to be under 400,000

Second my wife and I are an interracial relartionship (Caucasian/Belizian) and I would like some honest opinions on the lifestyle for a couple such as us. BTW I am white and she is Belizian

Third schools, I want diverse schools with a large mixed population. I dont want my kids going to a 90% white school as it will create the "bubble" I am trying to avoid for my children.

Fourth Area-I have a lot of friends and business associates who have moved to Texas and, since I am in Real Estate, I have been looking around. My friends live in De Soto and I have found some nice homes there as well as Duncanville and Cedar Hill.