Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-30-2011, 10:20 PM

2 posts, read 25,104 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I'm a new resident from Northern Virginia. My spouse and I visited family in Texas many times before we decided the area was a good fit for us. We have two kids and began searching for homes online while still residing in Virginia. Now that we've closed on our home in VA and we're in town we've hit the ground running. We're seeking a great community in Collin County. Our budget is a bit limited as we both took a significant pay cut so we were looking for properties around $250k. A DR Horton sales person in another community recommended we check out the Reserve at Westridge. The homes were consistent with our price point, the amenities would be a hit with our little ones (especially the splash park) and folks around the neighborhood seem friendly.

We are considering putting an offer on a home but drove around the entire Westridge community (outside of the Reserve) and noticed some communities are a little older and less "tidy" than others. It also appears that the builders are throwing up homes around a rural area of broken down cars and trailers. Disappointing to see as we continued up Independence.

I'm also reading mixed reviews on the nearby schools Roach Elementary and Heritage High. I was curious if anyone could provide some insight on the reputation of the community. Good and safe if wife and kids are walking the dog at night sort of thing?

TIA