U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-26-2011, 11:23 PM

3 posts, read 6,274 times

Advertisements

Greetings,

I've been considering moving to Dallas from Hawaii as of late. For the last year and a half I've been working part time as an admin assistant at a law firm. I'm really struggling to find a full-time entry level job here. I have a degree in MIS but no relevant experience to go with it. I'm hoping I might fare better in Dallas. Opinions?

(25, male, single, no kids).

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-26-2011, 11:25 PM

1,568 posts, read 1,311,246 times
Texas it is! Moderator cut: see comment

Last edited by BstYet2Be; 10-27-2011 at 08:59 AM.. Reason: Political opinions belong in the P&OC Forum, not in the Dallas Relocation Forum.

Old 10-27-2011, 07:47 AM

1,261 posts, read 2,084,566 times
While the cost of living isn't as cheap here as some would have you to believe, it is cheaper than living in Hawaii. And if you have an MIS degree, you can probably find work here -- at least as a temp, then full time.

How well do you think you would adapt to living in Texas? Moderator cut: see commentThings are not exactly liberal here. Hawaii seems very relaxed about things Texans are still uptight about - like gay marriage, Obama, etc.

It's something to think about ....

Last edited by BstYet2Be; 10-27-2011 at 09:02 AM.. Reason: Orphaned - post referred to has been removed.

Old 10-27-2011, 08:06 AM

1,690 posts, read 2,471,953 times