U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-03-2012, 12:53 PM

8 posts, read 40,250 times

Advertisements

First of all, i am relatively new to the DFW area, just about a year now here and already love the area.

I am a first time home buyer and looking for homes in Plano ISD around the 300k mark, but most of my knowledge for the search has been second hand information and i am finding tough getting a good picture.

I have been told that areas feeding to Rice Middle School or Robinson Middle School, are really good - primarily because i have heard their programs are pretty competitive and regularly produce kids who end up in some of the top-ranked programs and merit lists.

But the problem is there are not too many homes in the above preference area and even if something comes up, gets lapped up in 3-5 days time, even in this economy

So we are faced with two choices either (please excuse me for being too particular)
1. Go up to Frisco ISD area (Fowler Middle)
or
2. Allen (Erickson MIddle) and feeding upwards

I have a few questions
1. There are some great homes for the above two middle school zones, (Frisco/Allen) but i dont have too many first person accounts of how the schools in the above (both elementary and Middle) are? Any feedback from members would be most appreciated.
2. Are these schools on par with the PLano school patterns of Skaggs/Rice etc.? Or they less academically competitive.