U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 01-21-2013, 10:41 AM

329 posts, read 253,975 times
Default How To Tell What Kind of Wood Floors I Have & How To Clean Them?

I recently moved into a new home in Richardson that contains about 80% real hardwood flooring. The only rooms without hardwood are 2 of the bedrooms and both bathrooms. Everything else is the same hardwood flooring. It appears to me(and believe me, I'm no expert so I could be wrong) that this floor is original to the house.
I dust mop the floor several times a week and vacuum once a week. I'd like to mop the floors with a microfiber mop and some sort of mild cleaner. We bought Zep Hardwood Floor Cleaner form Home Depot and was prepared to use that but after reading the label more carefully it says not use on waxed or unfinished floors. I don't think my floors are unfinished, but they may very well be waxed floors. I know for sure they don't have that polyurethane top coat that some floors have.
We have a dog and also being that the kitchen is all hardwood as well, the floors do get somewhat dirty over time with paw prints, small stains etc. and we'd like to be able to clean this safely.
Can anyone recommend a good, cleaner for real hardwood that would be safe on all types of hardwood? Is there anyway to tell what kind of hardwood floor I have?
The GF suggested spraying pledge on the microfiber mop and going to town, but I'm not so sure that's a good idea either
Quick reply to this message

Old 01-21-2013, 10:57 AM